1993 Champion (UK)

01 Joy (Love Joy Serious Vocal Edit)
02 Joy (Original Edit)
03 Joy (Love Joy Vocal Mix)
04 Joy (Original Mix)
05 Joy (Diss-Cuss Vox Mix)
06 Joy (Stone’s Club Mix)
07 Joy (Love Joy Dub)

Boy Pop

Book Of Love
“Boy Pop”
1993 Sire Records (US)
9 40806-2

01 Boy Pop (Album Version)
02 Boy Pop (Extended Radio Mix)
03 Boy Pop (WinKing Breakbeat Trance)
04 Quiver (Extended Mix)
05 Boy Pop (Go Bottom Go Top Mix)
06 Boy Pop (Swinging Boy Pop Mix)
07 Boy Pop (The Deeper X Dub)
08 Boy Pop (Radio Mix)

Hip Hop Don’t Stop 2

Various Artists
“Hip Hop Don’t Stop 2”
1997 Solid State Records (UK)

01 N.W.A – Express Yourself
02 Eric B. & Rakim – Move The Crowd
03 Young MC – I Come Off
04 Sugar Bear – Don’t Scandalize Mine
05 Spoonie Gee – The Godfather
06 Public Enemy – Bring The Noise
07 Run‐DMC – Sucker M.C.’s
08 Mantronix – King Of The Beats
09 Ultramagnetic MC’s – Travelling At The Speed Of Thought
10 Kurtis Blow – The Breaks
11 Dream Warriors – My Definition Of A Boombastic Jazz Style
12 Gang Starr – Lovesick
13 De La Soul – The Magic Number
14 A Tribe Called Quest – I Left My Wallet In El Segundo

01 Doug E. Fresh And The Get Fresh Crew – The Show
02 Whistle – (Nothing Serious) Just Buggin’
03 Schoolly D – Saturday Night
04 Cash Money & Marvelous – Mighty Hard Rocker
05 Man Parrish – Hip Hop, Be Bop
06 Jungle Brothers – Straight Out The Jungle
07 KRS‐One – Sound Of Da Police
08 Naughty By Nature – Hip Hop Hooray
09 Digital Underground – The Humpty Dance
10 Heavy D. & The Boyz – Mr. Big Stuff
11 Slick Rick – Children’s Story
12 Sweet Tee & Jazzy Joyce – It’s My Beat
13 Grandmaster Flash – The Adventures Of Grandmaster Flash



Earth Day was founded in the United States in 1970 to bring attention to threats facing the environment, and to foster its protection. The success of the first Earth Day led to the creation of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, established to safeguard air, land, water, and human health through research, education, regulations, and monitoring activities. The inaugural observance of Earth Day also influenced the U.S. Congress’ passage of three crucial laws: the Clean Air Act of 1970, the Clean Water Act of 1972, and the Endangered Species Act of 1973.

However, the positive changes achieved ever the past five decades may be undone by Donald Trump’s toxic policies. His new administration’s systematic deconstruction of government includes the gutting of regulations designed to protect people, wildlife, and natural resources from corporate exploitation and abuse. Trump describes global warming as a “hoax,” and intends to withdraw the U.S. from the Paris Climate Agreement.

Fellow climate change denier Scott Pruitt now heads the EPA, and under the proposed Federal budget, that department’s funding would be slashed by 31%. With Pruitt in charge, the EPA will become the Environmental Pollution Agency—its Back-To-Basics agenda rescinds protective regulations and sensible standards, giving corporations free reign to contaminate the country.

Human health is increasingly being compromised by profit-driven pollution enabled by politicians. Fresh air and clean water are not privileges for the wealthy—they are basic necessities needed by everyone. Don’t let Trump and his cronies turn the planet into terror firma—please be an ally for the environment.


Kraftwerk “3-D The Catalogue”

Next month will see the release of “3-D The Catalogue”, which captures Kraftwerk performing eight albums live on tour with 3-D visuals. The product will be available on 26 May in multiple formats:

  • Super Deluxe: 4 Blu-Rays and 236-page book in a 12″ x 12″ box
  • Deluxe: 9 Vinyl LPs
  • Deluxe: 8 CDs
  • Abridged: 2 Vinyl LPs
  • Abridged: Blu-Ray + DVD combo

Note that the Blu-Rays are 3-D (2-D compatible) and feature Dolby Atmos 5.1 audio.

I experienced the Kraftwerk 3-D tour on 2 October 2015 in Philadelphia—the presentation was mesmerizing and memorable, to say the least.



A Flock Of Seagulls
1989 GNP Crescendo (US)
GNPD 1208

01 Magic (Radio Mix)
02 Magic (Extended Radio Mix)
03 Magic (Dance With Vocal)
04 Magic (Dance Instrumental)

There’s no shame in expressing admiration for A Flock Of Seagulls—the group’s first three LPs are eminently listenable. However, the band started to fall apart after the departure of guitarist Paul Reynolds (a vastly underrated talent) in 1984. Brothers Mike and Ali Score and bassist Frank Maudsley soldiered on to produce “Dream Come True”, released in 1986. Unfortunately, the album tanked, the band broke up, and the dream died.

Unbeknownst to me at the time, Mike Score was living in my hometown of Philadelphia, PA during the mid-to-late 1980s, having relocated from Liverpool. In 1988, Score assembled a new Flock, comprised of fellow UK expats and local talent from the Philly area. The new lineup recorded a single, “Magic”, issued in 1989. Hardly magical, the tepid tune went unnoticed, but would reappear six years later on “The Light At The End Of The World”, the fifth and final album released by Score as A Flock Of Seagulls.

Healing Dream

Sunday Club
“Healing Dream”
1997 Stress Records (UK)

01 Healing Dream (Original Mix)
02 Healing Dream (Paul van Dyk Remix)
03 Healing Dream (Dub Mix)

Little Bullet

“Little Bullet”
1993 Guerilla Records (UK)

01 Little Bullet (High Velocity Mix)
02 Little Bullet (Gargantuan Mix)
03 Little Bullet (Dum Dum Mix)

Trance Atlantic

Various Artists
“Ministry Presents… Trance Atlantic” (Mixed By Dave Ralph)
1999 Ministry Magazine (UK)
MINMAG 5 / M005

01 Delerium – Silence (Sanctuary Mix)
02 Tilt – What’s This? (Tilt’s Tunnel Mix)
03 Stonemaker – Flashfunk
04 Dove Beat – La Paloma
05 Planet Heaven – Nautical Bodies
06 Bumbling Loons – Rumbling Toons (Evolution Mix)
07 16C+ – Under 4 Ever
08 The Olmec Heads – Spiritualized
09 DJ Tandu – Velvet
10 Argonauts – Frühlingstag (Main Mix)

Abduction V:02

Various Artists
“Abduction V:02” (Mix By Qattara)
1997 Solid State Records (UK)

CD 01: Big C Mix
1.01 The Future Sound Of London – Papua New Guinea
1.02 Last Rhythm – Last Rhythm
1.03 Orbital – Chime
1.04 Joey Beltram – Energy Flash
1.05 The Sabres Of Paradise – Smokebelch II
1.06 The Disco Evangelists – De Niro
1.07 Eagles Prey – Tonto’s Drum
1.08 Datura – Yerba Del Diablo
1.09 Chicane – Offshore
1.10 Coyote – Spirits Dancing
1.11 Tallulah – Everything
1.12 Spooky – Stereo
1.13 Dos Piratas – Sonrisas
1.14 Beat Foundation – Virginia
1.15 Mary Kiani – With Or Without You

CD 02: Alex Whitcombe Mix
2.01 Leftfield – Not Forgotten
2.02 Ritmo Rivals – Americano Slide
2.03 Delta Lady – Anything You Want
2.04 Dr. Atomic – Schudelfloss
2.05 Evolution – Metropolis
2.06 The Visions Of Shiva – Perfect Day
2.07 Horse – Careful
2.08 React 2 Rhythm – Intoxication
2.09 L.S.G. – Hidden Sun Of Venus
2.10 Paul van Dyk – Forbidden Fruit
2.11 Bedrock – Set In Stone
2.12 Energy 52 – Cafe Del Mar
2.13 Dum Dum – One Earth Beat
2.14 Qattara – The Truth
2.15 Seventh Sense – Get The Music

The second volume of “Abduction” comprises a solid selection of progressive house classics, DJ mixed by Andy Cato and Alex Whitcombe.