Category Archives: Zeus B. Held



01 Sinful! (7″ Version) 03:58
02 If I Love You (Edit) 04:01
03 Fourelevenfortyfour (Edit) 04:30
04 Sinful! (Tribal Mix) 08:07
05 Sinful! (The Wickedest Mix In Town) 07:59
06 Sinful! (Song Of The Sinful Angel) 07:04
07 Fourelevenfortyfour 05:23
08 Sinful! 04:09

INFO > Liverpool music legend Pete Wylie was involved in several short-lived punk projects before fronting Wah! (with it’s numerous name variations) in the early-1980s. Although he sporadically resurrected the Wah! identity in later years, Wylie launched a solo career in 1986 with the brilliant pop single “Sinful!”, featuring mixes by Zeus B. Held and Bert Bevans that were big with the Boy’s Own crowd. The 1988 3″ CD single is expanded here with additional versions and the full-length ‘Tribal Mix.’

NOTE > Special thanks to our esteemed comrade Andrei for his very generous contributions to this post.

Erasure – Blue Savannah

“Blue Savannah”
1990 Sire Records (US)
9 21428-2

01. Blue Savannah (Single Version)
02. Blue Savannah (Der Deutsche Mix I)
03. Blue Savannah (Der Deutsche Mix II)
04. Runaround On The Underground
05. Blue Savannah (Mark Saunders Remix)
06. Supernature (William Orbit Mix)
07. No G.D.M. (Zeus B. Held Unfinished Mix)
08. Blue Savannah (Mark Saunders Edit)*

*Bonus track

INFO > “Blue Savannah” was the third single from Erasure’s “Wild!” album. The US CD maxi-single includes remixes by Mark Saunders and Fischerman’s Friend.

Exotic Birds – Day After Day (US Promo)

Exotic Birds
“Day After Day”
1990 Alpha International Records (US)

01. Day After Day (Philly Edit)
02. Day After Day (Houston Radio)
03. Day After Day (London Single)
04. Day After Day (Houston Crossover)
05. Day After Day (Upstairs)
06. Day After Day (13″)
07. Day After Day (Vogue After Vogue)

1, 3, 5, 6 > Remix and additional production by Zeus B. Held

INFO > Andy Kubiszewski, Tom Freer, and Tim Adams formed synthpop group Exotic Birds in 1983. Obscure in the annals of music history, Exotic Birds merit notice for two of its onetime band members: Trent Reznor and Chris Vrenna. After multiple personnel changes throughout the 1980s, the Birds signed with Philadelphia-based Alpha International in 1990 and released two singles and a revised version of their 1989 album, “Equilibrium.” Their saccharine cover of Badfinger’s 1971 hit “Day After Day” was remixed by Zeus B. Held and Houston producer Stephen Bogle (guitarist for The Hunger, also part of Alpha’s roster at the time).


Gary Numan – Cars (1993)

Gary Numan
1993 Beggars Banquet (UK)
BEG 264 CD

01. Cars (’93 Sprint) 03:52
02. Cars (Multivalve) 05:44
03. Cars (Classic) 03:50
04. Cars (Endurance) 06:45
05. Cars (Top Gear) 04:11
06. Cars (Motorway Mix) 04:31
07. Cars (‘E’ Reg Model) 03:35
08. Cars (‘E’ Reg Extended Model)* 06:13

*Bonus track, sourced from: Gary Numan “Selection” (BBP 5 CD)
1, 2, 4, 5 > Restyling and additional modifications by Charles Pierre and Francis Usmar of Native Soul
6, 7, 8 > Specially mixed by Zeus B. Held (originally released in 1987 as BEG 199TR)

INFO > Numan’s classic single has been sampled, covered, and remixed numerous times since the track’s original release in 1979 (BEG 23), when it reached number 1 on the UK pop chart. In 1987, Beggars Banquet commissioned Zeus B. Held for new mixes of “Cars” to promote the first wave of Numan compact disc reissues, along with the compilation, “Exhibition.”

When Beggars re-released Numan’s back catalog again in 1993, a French duo was enlisted to go under the bonnet, resulting in house-inspired overhauls. The ‘E’ Reg Model was rolled out of the garage in 1996 to help drive sales of Numan’s “Premier Hits” collection and Carling Premier Lager.

CARS 1993