Category Archives: Underworld

Cowgirl (2000)


01 Cowgirl (Radio Edit)
02 Cowgirl (Bedrock Mix)
03 Cowgirl (Futureshock Mix)
04 Rez + Cowgirl (Live)

INFO > Underworld’s classic track “Cowgirl” was reworked and reissued in 2000 to promote the group’s live recording, “Everything, Everything.” The tune was remixed by Bedrock (John Digweed & Nick Muir) and Futureshock (Alex Tepper & Phil Dockerty).

Dirty Epic + Cowgirl


01 Dirty Guitar
02 Dirty
03 Dirty Epic
04 Cowgirl (Irish Pub In Kyoto Mix)
05 Cowgirl (Winjer Mix)
06 Cowgirl (Album Version)
07 Rez
08 River Of Bass

INFO > This US EP conveniently combines two of Underworld’s better singles, “Dirty Epic” and “Cowgirl”, along with “River Of Bass” from the group’s 1993 LP, “Dubnobasswithmyheadman.”

Born Slippy


01 Born Slippy 08.30
02 Born Slippy .NUXX 09.44
03 Born Slippy .TELEMATIC 09.39


01 Born Slippy .NUXX 11.37
02 Born Slippy .NUXX (Deep Pan) 09.59
03 Born Slippy .NUXX (Darren Price Mix) 06.31
04 Born Slippy .NUXX (Darren Price Remix) 08.11
05 Born Slippy .NUXX (Short) 04.23
06 Dark + Long (Dark Train) 10.24
07 Banstyle (Alex Reece Mix) 05.38

INFO > It was only while conducting my customary research for today’s post that I discovered the original mix of “Born Slippy.” Karl Hyde and Rick Smith’s instrumental is significantly different than their vocal version, “Born Slippy .NUXX”, which became a massive hit following its inclusion on the “Trainspotting” soundtrack. Presented here are the 1995 release and the 1996 reissue.

NOTE > It’s possible that the ‘Darren Price Remix’ of “Born Slippy .NUXX” is actually a rework of “Banstyle”—at 5.26, the lyric “Rest your head” from “Banstyle” is repeated.

Stand Up (US Promo)

PROCD3639 Cover

01 Stand Up (Edit)
02 Stand Up (LP Version)
03 Stand Up (And Dance)
04 Stand Up (Ya House)

INFO > 1989’s “Stand Up” was the only proper single issued from Underworld’s second album, “Change The Weather” (although “Thrash” was remixed for an Australian exclusive 12″). Thankfully, Karl Hyde and Rick Smith would pursue a different musical path in the 1990s.

Underneath The Radar (US Promo)


01 Underneath The Radar (7″ Remix)
02 Underneath The Radar (12″ Remix)
03 Underneath The Radar (LP Version)

INFO > The evolution of Underworld began in 1979 with the pop punk of The Screen Gemz, then continued in the mid-1980s as the obscure synthpop of Freur. But prior to the experimental techno of Lemon Interupt and the massive success of “Born Slippy” in the 1990s, there was another stop in the musical journey of Karl Hyde and Rick Smith. The first incarnation of Underworld was a conventional and unremarkable synth-rock band, and included former members of both The Screen Gemz and Freur. Their 1988 debut single “Underneath The Radar” is also the title track of Underworld’s first album; Shep Pettibone remixed the tune.