Category Archives: Todd Terry

The Pleasure Principle + Alright (1996)


Janet Jackson
“The Pleasure Principle + Alright”
1996 AM:PM (UK)
581 767-2

01 The Pleasure Principle (Legendary Club Mix)
02 The Pleasure Principle (NuFlava Vocal Dub)
03 The Pleasure Principle (Banji Dub)
04 The Pleasure Principle (D.T.’s Twilo Dub)
05 Alright (Tee’s Club Mix)
06 Alright (Tee’s Beats)

Those who grew up as part of the ‘Rhythm Nation’ may develop a few more gray hairs today, as Janet Jackson turns 50 years old. After Janet (Miss Jackson if you’re nasty) signed with Virgin in 1993, her former label A&M compiled a career retrospective—1995’s “Design Of A Decade”—and commissioned new remixes of classic singles. Issued exclusively on A&M dance subsidiary AM:PM, this release combines Danny Tenaglia reworks of “The Pleasure Principle” with Todd Terry’s take on “Alright.”



01 Missing (Album Mix)
02 Missing (Lite Mix)
03 Missing (Todd Terry Club Mix)
04 Missing (Chris & James Full On Club Mix)
05 Missing (Ultramarine Remix)
06 Missing (Little Joey Remix)
07 Missing (Tee’s Beat)

INFO > Between 1982 and 1994, Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt produced eight LPs and 20 singles as Everything But The Girl. However, it wasn’t until 1995 that the duo finally experienced international success, thanks to a Todd Terry remix of “Missing”, the second single from their eighth album, “Amplified Heart.”

You Showed Me (CD 2)


01 You Showed Me (Radio Edit)
02 You Showed Me (Tee’s Alternative Mix)
03 You Showed Me (Tee’s Club Mix)
04 You Showed Me (Tee’s Freeze Mix)
05 You Showed Me (TNT’s Frozen Dub)
06 You Showed Me (Bonus Beats)
07 You Showed Me (Tee’s Radio)

INFO > Originally intended as a B-side, Ian Broudie’s cover of “You Showed Me” was ultimately deemed album worthy, appearing on The Lightning Seeds’ 1996 LP “Dizzy Heights.” The song was written by Jim McGuinn and Gene Clark of The Byrds, and recorded by The Turtles in 1968. Sampling The Turtles’ original, Broudie’s version was issued as the fourth single from “Dizzy Heights”, and reached 8 on the UK Singles Chart in 1997. The tune is also included on the soundtrack to “Austin Powers: International Man Of Mystery.”

Don’t Go + Situation (1999 Remixes)


01 Don’t Go (Tee’s TNT Radio Mix)
02 Don’t Go (Tee’s Freeze Mix)
03 Situation (Club 69 US Radio Edit)
04 Situation (Club 69 Future Phunk Mix)
05 Situation (Richard ‘Humpty’ Vission Radio Edit)
06 Situation (Richard ‘Humpty’ Vission Visits The Dome)
07 Situation (Dave Ralph’s Tea Freaks English Breakfast Mix)
08 Don’t Go (MT’s Dub)
09 Situation (Richard ‘Humpty’ Vission Visits The Dub)
10 Don’t Go (Digital Blonde Instrumental Mix)*

*Bonus track

INFO > To promote the US release of 1999 collection “The Best Of Yaz”, Reprise/Mute issued a double A-side single comprising new mixes of “Don’t Go” and “Situation.” In the UK, the remixes of “Don’t Go” backed “Only You” on two CD singles. And although a couple of tracks from the UK issue of “Situation” are repeated, there are other versions here not present on that release. Todd ‘The God’ Terry proves himself merely mortal with a faithful but uninspired update of “Don’t Go”; however, his dub version is more inventive. The Digital Blonde instrumental bears nothing in common with the original—even an attempt to incorporate that famous synth riff comes off unrecognizable.

Everything She Wants ’98


01 Everything She Wants (George Michael Mix)
02 Everything She Wants (Todd Terry Club Mix)
03 Everything She Wants (Todd Terry Radio Edit)
04 Everything She Wants (Forthright Club Mix)
05 Everything She Wants (Forthright Club Mix – BRAT Edit)

INFO > To promote the 1997 hits collection, “The Best of Wham!”, Sony commissioned new mixes of the duo’s 1984 single, “Everything She Wants.” George Michael’s effort elicits a yawn, and Todd Terry turns out predictable patter; however, Pete Gleadall (Forthright) provides a more interesting interpretation. Added as a bonus is Daniel Barassi’s unreleased edit of the Forthright Club Mix. For more of Barassi’s knob-twiddling talents, head over to BRAT Productions.

In The Name Of Love


01 In The Name Of Love (Club Mix)
02 In The Name Of Love (Rubber Dub)
03 The Dream (1018 Mix)
04 The Dream (54 Dub Mix)

INFO > Todd Terry produced classic track “In The Name Of Love” under the alias Swan Lake in 1988. Laden with samples, and employing Terry’s unmistakable beats, this single is vintage, old school house from the golden era of Todd The God.

Junkster – Slide (UK Promo)

1997 BMG Entertainment (UK)

01. Slide (Album Version)
02. Slide (TNT Radio Edit)
03. Slide (Skinnymalinky Vocal Mix)
04. Slide (Tee’s Alternative Club Mix)
05. Slide (Rennie Pilgrem’s Vocal Mix)
06. Slide (Beat Foundation’s Infinity Dub)

INFO > Dublin’s Junkster were among the scores of 90s-era alternative bands that never made it big. The group’s debut single, “Slide”, sounds a bit like Portishead or Sneaker Pimps; however, Junkster’s lone album is stylistically varied. Looking for crossover appeal, RCA/BMG had “Slide” reworked by Todd Terry, Rennie Pilgrem, Andrea Parker, and Big C/Beat Foundation.


The Grid – Figure of Eight

The Grid
“Figure of Eight”
1992 Virgin Records Ltd (UK)
VSCDT 1421

01. Figure of Eight (456 7″ Edit) 03:30
02. Figure of Eight (Grid Tribal Trance Mix) 06:22
03. Figure of Eight (Todd’s Master Dub) 06:25
04. Magic Tree 03:38

INFO > After Soft Cell split in 1984, Marc Almond started a successful solo career while Dave Ball dabbled in production and various electronic experiments before teaming up with Richard Norris to form The Grid in 1989. After recording a few singles and an album for East West, the duo jumped ship to Virgin, and again issued a modest output before finding greener pastures with Deconstruction. “Figure of Eight” was the second of four singles taken from the album “456,” and features a mesmerizing mix by Ball and Norris as well as a dub from house legend Todd Terry.