Category Archives: Sure Is Pure

We Are Family (’93 Mixes)

In memory of Joni Sledge (13 Sep 1956 – 10 Mar 2017).

Sister Sledge
“We Are Family” (’93 Mixes)
1993 Atlantic (UK)

01 We Are Family (Sure Is Pure Remix Edit)
02 We Are Family (Original Version)
03 We Are Family (Sure Is Pure Remix)
04 We Are Family (Steve Anderson DMC Remix)

Sister Sledge’s biggest hit, “We Are Family”, has achieved status as both a disco floor filler and an anthem of solidarity. Produced by Bernard Edwards & Nile Rodgers, the single peaked at 2 on the US Billboard Hot 100 in 1979, and also found chart success worldwide. The 1993 reissue features Sure Is Pure’s update, and Steve Anderson’s ‘The Family Reunion’ remix, produced for DMC in 1992.

Lost In Music (Sure Is Pure Remixes)

Sister Sledge
“Lost In Music” (Sure Is Pure Remixes)
1993 Atlantic (UK)

01 Lost In Music (Sure Is Pure Remix Edit)
02 Lost In Music (Original Version)
03 Lost In Music (Nile Rodgers 1984 Remix)
04 Lost In Music (Sure Is Pure Remix)
05 Lost In Music (Philip Kelsey DMC Mix)

Produced by Bernard Edwards & Nile Rodgers, “Lost In Music” was originally released as a 7″ single in 1979, and later remixed by Rogers (with backing vocals by Duran Duran’s Simon Le Bon and Andy Taylor) and reissued in 1984.

After sending “We Are Family” back into the charts in 1993, Kelvin Andrews & Danny Spencer (Sure Is Pure) were tapped again to work their magic on “Lost In Music,” which reached 14 on the UK Singles Chart during the same year. The ’93 release also includes Phil Kelsey’s ‘The Birthday Boys’ Bump Remix’, produced for the DMC remix service in 1992.

Do Ya


Inner City
“Do Ya”
1994 Columbia (US)
44K 77401

01 Do Ya (Single Mix) | 04:00
02 Do Ya (The Reese Uplifting Vocal Mix) | 07:35
03 Do Ya (The Claude Young Mix) | 05:11
04 Do Ya (Carl Craig Build Up Mix) | 05:27
05 Do Ya (Chez D Trent Late Night Dub Mix) | 04:39
06 Do Ya (Sure Is Pure Remix) | 09:55
07 Do Ya (Sure Is Pure Dub) | 06:11
08 Do Ya (Graeme Park Club Mix) | 09:23
09 Do Ya (Graeme Park Dub Mix) | 06:10
10 Do Ya (The Commission Mix) | 06:00
11 Do Ya (The Commission Dub) | 07:31
12 Lovin’ It Up | 03:24

The US CD single of Inner City’s “Do Ya” includes every mix of the track, and the B-side from the cassette single.

Last Rhythm (1996)


01 Last Rhythm (Jimmy Gomez Clubathon Edit)
02 Last Rhythm (Original Club Mix)
03 Last Rhythm (Way Out West Remix)
04 Last Rhythm (Sure Is Pure 1992 Remix)
05 Last Rhythm (Jimmy Gomez Voyage Of Discovery)

INFO > Italian production team Last Rhythm issued the original mixes of their eponymous house classic in 1990. Vocal versions appeared the following year, and then Stress picked up the single for a 1992 UK release, which includes a remix by Sure Is Pure. In 1996, Stress again reissued “Last Rhythm” with new mixes from James Wiltshire, Way Out West, and Desert.

Long Train Runnin’ (1993 Remixes)


01 Long Train Runnin’ (Sure Is Pure 7″ Edit)
02 Long Train Runnin’ (Sure Is Pure 12″ Mix)
03 Long Train Runnin’ (Full Guitar Mix)
04 Long Train Runnin’ (Done On A Shoestring Mix)
05 Long Train Runnin’ (Showbiz In Peril Mix)
06 Long Train Runnin’ (Original Version)

INFO > In 1973, The Doobie Brothers scored a US Top 10 hit with “Long Train Runnin’.” Twenty years later, the tune achieved similar chart placement in the UK thanks to an ace remix by Sure Is Pure. Also on the mix: Ben Liebrand, Danny Hibrid & Mike E-Bloc, and Phil Coxon.

Rock Steady (1994 Remix)


01 Rock Steady (Sure Is Pure Remix Edit)
02 Rock Steady (Original Version)
03 Rock Steady (Sure Is Pure Remix)
04 Rock Steady (Sure Is Pure Dub)
05 Rock Steady (Instrumental)

INFO > Aretha Franklin’s 1971 US Top 10 single “Rock Steady” was remixed by brothers Daniel Spencer Mould and Kelvin Andrews Mould for this 1994 release.

Heart Of Stone


01 Heart Of Stone (Radio Edit)
02 Heart Of Stone (Sure Dub Edit)
03 Heart Of Stone (LP Version)


01 Heart Of Stone
02 Peace In Wartime
03 Cool Nights
04 Heart Of Stone (Ramp Mix)
05 Heart Of Stone (Ramp Instrumental)
06 Heart Of Stone (Sure Dub)
07 Heart Of Stone (Sure Breakdown Dub)

INFO > David A. Stewart’s post-Eurythmics career has included soundtracks, solo albums, collaborations, production work, and running his own label, Anxious Records. Co-written with Shara Nelson, “Heart Of Stone” is the first of two singles taken from Stewart’s 1994 debut solo album, “Greetings From The Gutter.” Consolidated here are the limited edition UK CD single; the German CD of dance remixes; and the US promo CD, which includes an exclusive edit of the Sure Is Pure dub.