Category Archives: Slacker

No-One In The World (1998)


01 No-One In The World (DJB Radio Edit)
02 No-One In The World (Mack Mongoloid Mix)
03 No-One In The World (Frankenstein UV Remix)
04 No-One In The World (Mongoloidian Killer Bees Mix)
05 No-One In The World (LP Version)
06 No-One In The World (In Slacker’s Universe – Master Mix)
07 No-One In The World (Timecode Remix)
08 No-One In The World (Original W.F.O. Mix)

INFO > London born Mark Van Hoen has been experimenting with sound for over 30 years. He was a member of Seefeel in the early-1990s, as well as that band’s offshoot project, Scala. Van Hoen has recorded as Locust since 1993; however, his original mix of “No-One In The World” was initially credited to W.F.O. and appears on volume two of the “Excursions In Ambience” series. The track borrows vocals from the Carpenters’ 1972 single “Hurting Each Other”; this 1998 reissue includes remixes from Bernard Badie, Armand Van Helden & Junior Sanchez, Frank Fallico, Shem McCauley, and Rob Playford.

Voices / Heaven Scent


01 Heaven Scent (Radio Edit) 02:57
02 Voices (Radio Edit) 03:18
03 Heaven Scent (Original Mix) 10:27
04 Voices (Original Mix) 09:07
05 Heaven Scent (Evolution Main Mix) 09:30
06 Voices (Slacker’s Dumbstruck Mix)* 10:23
07 Heaven Scent (Evolution Dub)* 09:06

*Bonus tracks

INFO > This Australian release pairs John Digweed & Nick Muir’s epic “Heaven Scent” with moodier follow-up, “Voices.”

Kinetic (1998)


01 Kinetic (Rhythm Masters Melodic Radio Edit)
02 Kinetic (Slacker’s Psychokinetic Mix)
03 Kinetic (Orbital Mix)
04 Kinetic (Hybrid’s Audiopyrotechnix Mix)

INFO > Techno classic “Kinetic” is a one-off single produced by Michael Hazell with Paul Hartnoll, who gave the track an overtly Orbital feel. Originally released in 1992 on R & S Records, “Kinetic” was licensed by Distinct’ive for a 1998 reissue, featuring remixes by Rhythm Masters, Slacker, Hybrid, and Orbital.

HELP > Looking for the 1993 UK single and the two Dutch singles from 1999 and 2000. Please feel free to share the wealth if you have any of those. Thanks.



01 Electrofear (Beastmix)
02 Electrofear (Shemsijo Mix)
03 Electrofear (Dogmix)

INFO > Depending on your fancy, Nation 12 was:

A) An experimental project of Dennis Leigh
B) An extension of Bomb The Bass
C) A precursor to Ramp/Slacker
D) All of the above

Comprising John Foxx, Kurt Rogers, Tim Simenon, Simon Rogers, and the late Shem McCauley, the short-lived Nation 12 released only two singles: “Remember” (1990) and “Electrofear” (1991), both on Rhythm King. However, the collective also recorded an album’s worth of tracks, which finally saw the light of day via Tape Modern in 2005.

Ascension – Someone

1997 Perfecto/Warner Music (UK)

01. Someone (Radio Edit)
02. Someone (Original Vocal Mix)
03. Someone (Slacker’s Elevation Vocal)
04. Someone (Slacker’s Rolling Mix)
05. Someone (Space Brothers Dub)

INFO > Ascension’s “Someone” was an anthem at The Courtyard during Paul Oakenfold’s legendary residency at Cream Liverpool in the late-1990s.


Sian – Stronger Together

“Stronger Together”
1997 Hi Life Recordings (UK)
573 561-2

01. Stronger Together (Full Vocal Mix) 07:14
02. Stronger Together (Forth’s De-Tox) 07:41
03. Stronger Together (Andy Ling’s Aryan Dub) 10:45
04. Stronger Together (Slacker Dub) 07:24
05. Stronger Together (Special Red Mix) 06:52

INFO > Sian was among the many aliases of Lee Milleare and the late John Horrocks, who also recorded as Amethyst, Skope, and Quest between 1996 and 2001.


Colein – Spreading The Light

“Spreading The Light”
1998 SPV GmbH (DE)
SPV 055-16273

01. Spreading The Light (Ramp Vocal Mix) 06:46
02. Spreading The Light (Ramp Radio Edit) 03:48
03. Spreading The Light (Slacker Remix) 07:26
04. Spreading The Light (Original Version) 05:59

INFO > For a decade between 1985 and 1995, session singer Linda Duggan sang mostly backing vocals on various projects before shifting to the foreground as Colein. “Spreading The Light” is taken from the “Ten A Penny Singer” EP released by More Protein in 1996; this German CD single features remixes from the 1997 UK 12″ (PROTR 121). By the way, this is the only single to feature both a Ramp mix and a Slacker mix by Shem McCauley and Simon Rogers (by 1997, the respective productions had become stylistically similar).


Shem McCauley R.I.P.

Hard Working Slacker

In the mid-1980s, a young Shem McCauley first made a name for himself as DJ Streets Ahead, pioneering the scratch mixing style in the UK. Early on, Shem scored slots spinning hip hop on Tim Westwood’s radio show, and as a student in Brighton, he ripped up the turntables alongside the likes of Norman Cook, Chad Jackson, and Carl Cox.

McCauley added his scratching skills to recordings by She Rockers, Kinkina, and Shakatak, and produced remixes for Simon Harris, Roxanne Shante, Wee Papa Girl Rappers, James Brown, Betty Boo, Digital Underground, Was (Not Was), Tony Toni Tone, Definition Of Sound, Herb Alpert, and Bomb The Bass.

In 1990, McCauley collaborated with Tim Simenon, John Foxx, and Simon Rogers in the short-lived electro collective Nation 12, releasing two singles through Rhythm King. McCauley and Simon Rogers would continue working together as Ramp in the mid-1990s, producing a couple of singles and loads of remixes for many artists, including: Sister Sledge, Boy George, D:ream, Tanita Tikaram, Armand Van Helden, and Yazz.

Concurrent with his work as Ramp, McCauley also began producing funky progressive house under the guise of Slacker. His 1996 single “Scared” was a UK hit, helping McCauley to set up his own label, Jukebox In The Sky, in 1998. By the late 1990s, Ramp was retired in favor of focusing full-time on Slacker, as the stream of singles and remixes continued. In 2002, Shem revived his old Head Honcho alias, issuing two singles through the Jukebox imprint.

After travelling around the world throughout the last decade, McCauley relocated to Thailand in 2010. Disillusioned with the music industry, he took up yoga instruction and made health and happiness his new priorities. However, McCauley’s old life wasn’t abandoned entirely—the new Slacker introduced a more ambient oriented sound for his first and only album, the introspective “Start A New Life”, mostly created on a laptop outside a fast food restaurant in Bangkok. (listen to selections here)

Sadly, Shem McCauley passed away on 23 January 2012. An incredibly talented artist, Shem will be greatly missed but always remembered for his innovative and entertaining body of work.

Slacker – Scared

1996 XL Recordings (UK)

01. Scared (Edit)
02. Scared (Pob Seismix)
03. Scared (Dylan Rhymes Remix)
04. Scared (The Lonely Traveller)
05. Scared (Scared Of Tomorrow)

INFO > Initially released via Loaded, Shem McCauley’s percolating prog house gem gained a wider audience after being licensed by XL (frequent spins by Sasha also helped).