Category Archives: Ryuichi Sakamoto

Field Work + Steppin’ Into Asia + The Arrangement


01 Field Work (Long London Mix)
02 Field Work (Long Tokyo Mix)
03 Exhibition
04 Steppin’ Into Asia
05 Steppin’ Into Asia (Urban Mix)
06 The Left Bank
07 The Arrangement
08 Just About Enough
09 Once In A Lifetime
10 Field Work (London Mix)
11 Field Work (Tokyo Mix)

INFO > This 1993 collection assembles three early Ryuichi Sakamoto singles: “The Arrangement” (1982), a collaboration with Robin Scott; “Field Work” (1985) featuring Thomas Dolby; and “Steppin’ Into Asia” (1985) with Akiko Yano. The latter two were included on “Illustrated Musical Encyclopedia”, the belated international version of Sakamoto’s 1984 album “音楽図鑑” (Ongaku Zukan).

David Sylvian & Ryuichi Sakamoto – Forbidden Colours

In the wake of a massive earthquake, a major tsunami, and nuclear reactor breaches, the country of Japan is contending with a crisis of unparalleled proportions. The devastating effects of these catastrophes have taken a tremendous toll on Japan’s people, animals, and cities. The estimated death toll is already staggering, and now the threat of widespread radioactive contamination is imminently looming. Japan will need a tremendous amount of relief assistance to recover and rebuild; with the world’s help, the sun will again rise over that great land. Somewhat fittingly, today’s post is a solemn ballad created by collaboration between artists from East and West.

David Sylvian & Ryuichi Sakamoto
“Forbidden Colours”
1991 Virgin Records (JP)

01. Forbidden Colours
02. Bamboo Houses
03. Bamboo Music
04. Forbidden Colours (Version II)

1, 4 > 1983 National Trustee Film Company Ltd/Virgin Records Ltd
2, 3 > 1982 Virgin Records Ltd

INFO > Sylvian and Sakamoto first worked together in 1980, producing a track for Japan’s fourth album, “Gentlemen Take Polaroids.” Two years later, the duo released the Eastern-tinged single “Bamboo Houses/Bamboo Music.” In 1983, Sakamoto scored and starred in “Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence,” an intriguing character study set in a Japanese POW camp during World War II. Sylvian’s lyrics beautifully accompany Sakamoto’s haunting main theme, which has become a signature piece for the award-winning Japanese composer.