Category Archives: Richard Vission

Don’t Go + Situation (1999 Remixes)


01 Don’t Go (Tee’s TNT Radio Mix)
02 Don’t Go (Tee’s Freeze Mix)
03 Situation (Club 69 US Radio Edit)
04 Situation (Club 69 Future Phunk Mix)
05 Situation (Richard ‘Humpty’ Vission Radio Edit)
06 Situation (Richard ‘Humpty’ Vission Visits The Dome)
07 Situation (Dave Ralph’s Tea Freaks English Breakfast Mix)
08 Don’t Go (MT’s Dub)
09 Situation (Richard ‘Humpty’ Vission Visits The Dub)
10 Don’t Go (Digital Blonde Instrumental Mix)*

*Bonus track

INFO > To promote the US release of 1999 collection “The Best Of Yaz”, Reprise/Mute issued a double A-side single comprising new mixes of “Don’t Go” and “Situation.” In the UK, the remixes of “Don’t Go” backed “Only You” on two CD singles. And although a couple of tracks from the UK issue of “Situation” are repeated, there are other versions here not present on that release. Todd ‘The God’ Terry proves himself merely mortal with a faithful but uninspired update of “Don’t Go”; however, his dub version is more inventive. The Digital Blonde instrumental bears nothing in common with the original—even an attempt to incorporate that famous synth riff comes off unrecognizable.

Situation (Remixes)


01 Situation (Club 69 Radio Mix)
02 Situation (Club 69 Speed Mix)
03 Situation (Richard ‘Humpty’ Vission Visits The Dome Mix)
04 Situation (Dave Ralph’s Tea Freaks English Breakfast Mix)
05 Situation (Deadline Mix)
06 State Farm (Madhouse Mix)
07 Situation (Daniel Miller & Mark Saunders 12″ Mix)
08 State Farm (Play-Doh Dub)
09 Situation (Original US Dub)

INFO > To promote the 1999 best of collection, “Only Yazoo”, Mute Records remixed and reissued “Only You”, “Don’t Go”, and “Situation.” The newer reworks of “Situation” by Peter Rauhofer, Richard Vission, and Dave Ralph & company aren’t terribly memorable; however, the release also features mixes from 1990 that were previously unavailable on CD. Nine years later, we finally got the full-length remixes by François Kevorkian, Paul Dakeyne, and Miller & Saunders, along with the 1982 dub.

The enhanced CD also includes the promo video for “Only You.”

The New Anthem


01 Anthem (Spike Club Mix)
02 Anthem (The Original Mix)
03 Anthem (Vission Lorimer Love Acid!)
04 Anthem (The Mafia Mix)
05 Anthem (The Six Day Nightmare Mix)

INFO > Nigel Champion and Mark Franklin formed techno-house team N-Joi in 1989; the duo was later joined by vocalist Samantha ‘Saffron’ Sprackling. The aptly named “Anthem” first appeared on N-Joi’s white label debut EP, and then featured on the act’s first release for Deconstruction, “Music From A State Of Mind.” A proper single issue followed, and “Anthem” broke into the top 10 of the UK Singles Chart in 1991. This 1995 US reissue includes new remixes by Darrin Friedman and Richard Vission & Pete Lorimer, along with the original mixes.