Category Archives: Really Odd

The Buttlick “Addicted To Love”

After Really Odd called it a day in 1987, Chris Martin considered having a go at a solo career. Inspired by one of his biggest influences, Martin tackled a cover of Robert Palmer’s “Addicted To Love.” Recorded in Wildwood, New Jersey during the summer of 1988, this rough demo is far more conventional than Really Odd’s eccentric output. Martin’s free-spirited girlfriend, competitive cyclist/supermodel Gina Q, suggested he adopt a peculiar artist alias: The Buttlick.

Contrary to reasonable assumptions, no alcohol or drugs were involved during the session. Upon hearing the tape, Martin immediately abandoned his solo artist ambitions.

When Robert Palmer died in 2003, Martin was devastated—he regarded Palmer as his musical mentor, even though the two had never met due to a longstanding restraining order.

On a related note, Sonic Youth side project Ciccone Youth also covered “Addicted To Love” in 1988 for “The Whitey Album.” Typical of the band’s lo-fi approach for that LP, Kim Gordon recorded the track in a karaoke booth.

Any similarity between the two versions is not entirely coincidental.

Really Odd “Even Odder”

Really Odd - Even Odder

Really Odd
“Even Odder”
1986 Oddly Real (US)

01 The Madness Continues
02 Backseat Lover/Psycho Hoedown
03 Synth Jam
04 What I Did Today
05 Find Them! Kill Them!
06 World News
07 The Theme/Meltdown

INFO > Despite overwhelmingly indifferent response to their 1986 album, “New Muzik”, Really Odd’s Todd Ernst and Chris Martin returned to the ‘studio’ later the same year to record a follow-up EP. Fully realizing their creative limitations, the duo enlisted some new members: Brian Eric (aka ‘Disgusting Ray’), Brett ‘The Man’ Harris, and Todd’s brother, Wayne ‘The Pain’. The expanded band produced yet another colossal collage of crap: the manic noise of “Even Odder” may be more bizarre than the preceding LP.

download: EVEN ODDER


Really Odd “New Muzik”

Really Odd
“New Muzik”
1986 Oddly Real (US)

01 The Madness Begins
02 Stream Of Consciousness
03 South Of The Border
04 Interlude 1
05 Now She Is Gone
06 No One Is To Blame
07 Almost A Love Song/Hanging Plants
08 Let’s Go Dancing!
09 Interlude 2
10 Someone Is To Blame
11 Really Odd
12 The Gong Show
13 People/Lust/Life
14 Fooled Ya

Really Odd Celebrates 25 Years In Obscurity

(Philadelphia, PA) The primitive recordings that comprise the “New Muzik” album channel the boredom and inspirations of longtime friends Todd Ernst and Chris Martin. Using found sounds derived from common household objects, Really Odd practiced musique concrète, albeit unknowingly and quite poorly.

Ripping off popular influences of their day—including Bruce Springsteen, Billy Idol, Howard Jones, and A Flock Of Seagulls—the boys co-opted familiar styles into laughable cacophony. Their regurgitation of Ho Jo’s “No One Is To Blame” fails to achieve even karaoke mediocrity; elsewhere, listeners will undoubtedly catch lines lifted from U2, Duran Duran, Men Without Hats, and others.

Todd Ernst & Chris Martin

The improvisational nature of the album is painfully evident. On “Stream Of Consciousness”, Todd simply reads a section from that day’s newspaper, and also refers to the band as ‘Very Odd’ (the name Really Odd was apparently decided upon later). Chris recycles several phrases across multiple tracks and never settles on a consistent vocal style, switching between a faux British accent and a lounge lizard persona. Between deeply disturbed rants and non sequitur silliness, the duo balance their mindless banter with equally bad instrumentals.

Really Odd never achieved more than a limited cult following among their peers. Unfortunately, their output has now been digitally preserved to confuse and annoy a new generation of wasted youth.

download: NEW MUZIK