Category Archives: Pet Shop Boys

The Crying Game

Boy George
“The Crying Game”
1992 Spaghetti Recordings (UK)

01 The Crying Game
02 The Crying Game (Extended Dance Mix)
03 I Specialize In Loneliness

Neil Jordan’s award-winning drama, “The Crying Game,” was released 25 years ago (UK: 30 Oct 1992 / US: 27 Nov 1992). The movie initially flopped in the UK, but found a following with US audiences, who were less informed about, or less offended by, its controversial political themes. For the soundtrack, Anne Dudley was hired to compose the score, whilst Neil Tennant & Chris Lowe were tasked with selecting songs.

“The Crying Game”, originally recorded by Dave Berry in 1964, features prominently in the motion picture, and the song name ultimately replaced Jordan’s working film title, “The Soldier’s Wife.” Boy George proved an inspired choice for a Pet Shop Boys produced cover version, which reached 22 on the UK Singles Chart and 15 on the US Billboard Hot 100. Hans Grøttheim remixed the tune for release via PSB imprint Spaghetti Recordings. The B-side is an edit of “I Specialize In Loneliness”, originally issued by Boy George under his guise as Jesus Loves You.

Pet Shop Boys: Catalogue 1985-2012


“Nightlife” + Further Listening (3 CD)
“Release” + Further Listening (3 CD)
“Fundamental” + Further Listening (2 CD)
Released 28 July 2017

P E T  S H O P  B O Y S

Godlike Geniuses

Pet Shop Boys were the recipients of the Godlike Genius award at this year’s NME Awards, held on 15 February 2017 at the O2 Academy Brixton in London:

After accepting the award, Neil and Chris closed out the program with a somewhat tepid performance, further marred by poor audio. However, it’s worth watching to hear new arrangements of old classics that the Boys are currently playing on tour:

Nothing Has Been Proved


Dusty Springfield
“Nothing Has Been Proved”
1989 Parlophone (UK)
CDR 6207

01 Nothing Has Been Proved (Dance Mix)
02 Nothing Has Been Proved
03 Nothing Has Been Proved (Instrumental)

“Nothing Has Been Proved” was written by Pet Shop Boys, who co-produced the track with Julian Mendelsohn. Recorded by Dusty Springfield, the song appears on the soundtrack to 1989 political drama “Scandal”, and was also released as a single featuring a ‘Dance Mix’ by Marshall Jefferson.

Pet Shop Boys “The Pop Kids”

“The Pop Kids”, the first single from Pet Shop Boys’ forthcoming album “Super”, is released on 18 March.

The track was remixed by Tennant and Lowe, and includes “One-Hit Wonder”—an instrumental written in 1981—as a B-side.

The Pop Kids (CD/Digital)

1. The Pop Kids (Radio Edit)
2. In Bits
3. One-Hit Wonder
4. The Pop Kids (PSB Deep Dub)
5. The Pop Kids (The Full Story)

Amazon UK has the CD single on pre-order for the ridiculous price of £7.41 (the MP3 single is priced at a more reasonable £3.49). I have to assume that the price will drop.

The CD single is also listed in the PSB Store for $10.49, which is equally ridiculous given that Amazon US has the album on pre-order for $11.99.

As CD singles have become an obsolete format, I guess this is the price that consumers are expected to pay.


CDR6629   CDRS6629

Pet Shop Boys
2004 Parlophone (UK)
CDR 6629 / CDRS 6629

01 Flamboyant (New Single Mix)
02 I Didn’t Get Where I Am Today
03 Flamboyant (Tomcraft Extended Mix)
04  Flamboyant (Scissor Sisters Silhouettes And Shadows Mix)
05 Flamboyant (DJ Hell Remix)
06 Flamboyant (Original Demo)

“Super” Pet Shop Boys

Chris Lowe and Neil Tennant will release a new album, “Super”, on 01 April 2016. Like the duo’s last LP, “Super” is produced by Stuart Price. Here’s a teaser video:

The track in that clip is “Inner Sanctum”—full audio below:

Not that I don’t like it; however, “Inner Sanctum” sounds similar to every Dutch trance track released in the late-1990s.

Goodbye Spaceboy

In memory of… Ziggy Stardust. Thomas Jerome Newton. Major Tom. John Blaylock. The Thin White Duke. Jack Celliers. Aladdin Sane. Jareth the Goblin King.

In memory of David Bowie (08 January 1947 – 10 January 2016).
Artist. Innovator. Chameleon. Icon. Legend.


David Bowie
“Hallo Spaceboy”
1996 RCA/BMG Records Ltd (UK)

01 Hallo Spaceboy (Remix) 04:25
02 Under Pressure (Live Version) 04:08
03 Moonage Daydream (Live Version) 05:28
04 The Hearts Filthy Lesson (Bowie Mix) 04:57
05 Hallo Spaceboy (12″ Remix)* 06:44
06 Hallo Spaceboy (Double Click Mix)* 07:49
07 Hallo Spaceboy (Instrumental)* 07:46
08 Hallo Spaceboy (Lost In Space Mix)* 06:34

*Bonus tracks not on original CD release

How Can You Expect To Be Taken Seriously?


01 How Can You Expect To Be Taken Seriously? (Album Version)
02 How Can You Expect To Be Taken Seriously? (7″ Perfect Attitude)
03 How Can You Expect To Be Taken Seriously? (Classical Reprise)
04 It’s Alright (7″ Version)
05 We All Feel Better In The Dark
06 Being Boring (Marshall Jefferson 12″ Mix)

INFO > Although “How Can You Expect To Be Taken Seriously?” and “Where The Streets Have No Name” were paired as a double A-side single in most regions, separate releases were issued in North America and France. “Seriously?” was remixed by Brothers In Rhythm; the US CD adds “It’s Alright” and Marshall Jefferson’s brilliant revision of “Being Boring.”

I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing

CDR6370   CDRS6370

01 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing
02 Too Many People
03 Violence (Haçienda Version)
04 West End Girls (Sasha Remix)
05 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (7″ Mix)
06 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (Extended Nude Mix)
07 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (Wild Pitch Mix)
08 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (Grandballroom Mix)
09 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (Wild Pitch Dub)
10 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (Club Mix)
11 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (Voxigen Mix)
12 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (Radio Edit)
13 I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing (eLeMeNOhPeaQ Edit)

INFO > “I Wouldn’t Normally Do This Kind Of Thing” was the third of five singles released from Pet Shop Boys’ 1993 album, “Very.” Consolidated here are all nine tracks from the two UK CD singles, additional mixes from European CD singles, the Beatmasters Radio Edit from a UK promo, and a special edit of the Nude Mix. Very special thanks to Andrei and eLeMeNOhPeaQ for their contributions.

LIVE > Pet Shop Boys are bringing their “Electric” tour to The Mann Center in Philadelphia this evening. The only other time that PSB played in Philly was over a decade ago, in 2002 (still trying to figure out why I missed that show). Situated between the more desirable destinations of NY and DC, Philadelphia tends to get passed over by many artists on tour. Also, the casino resorts of Atlantic City, NJ have been luring bigger acts away from Philly for years. Frankly, I’d much rather attend concerts in Manhattan, but it’s not always logistically convenient. However, The Mann’s open-air amphitheatre is quite conducive to having a good time, especially when the weather is just right.