Category Archives: Orb

Satellite Serenade

Courtesy of Rob: a bit of ambient to chill out your weekend.


01 Satellite Serenade (Saturday Mix)
02 Satellite Serenade (Sunday Mix)
03 Satellite Serenade (Transasian Express Mix)
04 Satellite Serenade (Transasian Dub)

INFO > Composer, musician, singer, and occasional actor Keiichi Suzuki is a highly respected artist in his native homeland of Japan. His first group, Hachimitsupai, served mainly as a backing band for several Japanese folk artists. In 1976, he formed the influential rock ensemble Moonriders, a long-running project active for over four decades. Suzuki also collaborates with YMO’s Yukihiro Takahashi as The Beatniks; that relationship dates back to 1981.

“Satellite Serenade” was released under the alias Suzuki K1 » 7.5cc in 1992. The track was remixed by Ryoji Oba & Simon Posford and The Orb, whose ‘Transasian Express Mix’ opens the first volume of Sasha & John Digweed’s “Northern Exposure” series.

A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain…


01 A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain (Orbital Dance Mix)
02 A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain (Orbital 9am Radio Mix)
03 A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain (Aubrey Mix Mk 1)
04 A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain (Loving You)

INFO > “A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain That Rules From The Centre Of The Ultraworld” was the second release from Jimmy Cauty and Alex Paterson, who pioneered ambient house as The Orb. The single was released in 1989 via WAU! Mr. Modo Recordings, a label founded by Paterson with Martin ‘Youth’ Glover, who has been closely associated with The Orb since the beginning. As for that unusual title: Paterson and Cauty borrowed it from a recording in the BBC Sound Effects Library.

Crystal Clear


01 Crystal Clear (Prankster Prophet Edit)
02 Crystal Clear (Prankster Prophet Mix)
03 Crystal Clear (Prankster Trance Dance)
04 Crystal Clear (Trimar Mix)
05 Crystal Clear (Clear, Like An Unmuddied Lake)
06 Crystal Clear (The Crystal Clear Water Revival)

INFO > “Crystal Clear” was Richard Norris and Dave Ball’s final release for Virgin; the duo signed with Deconstruction afterwards. Justin Robertson’s upbeat dance mixes are balanced by The Orb’s liquid ambiance; however, for me, it’s The Grid’s trance-funk ‘Trimar Mix’ that does the business.

The Orb – Once More (UK Promo)

The Orb
“Once More”
2000 Island Records (UK)

01. Once More… (Radio Edit) 03:55
02. Once More… (Scourge Of The Earth Short Mix) 03:45
03. Once More… (Bedrock Edit 2) 08:04
04. Little Fluffy Clouds (Danny Tenaglia’s Detour Mix) 10:20

INFO > “Once More” was the sole single lifted from The Orb’s 2001 album, “Cydonia.” This UK promo includes a unique edit of Jimmy Cauty’s mix, and the unedited Danny Tengalia remix of “Little Fluffy Clouds” from a 1998 promo release.

Once More
pw: djshelf 

The Orb – Little Fluffy Clouds

The Orb
“Little Fluffy Clouds”
1991 Big Life/Mercury Records (US)
865 139-2

01. Little Fluffy Clouds (Seven Inch Mk I) 04:04
02. Little Fluffy Clouds (Inner Master Mix) 03:57
03. Little Fluffy Clouds (Cumulonimbus Mix) 06:11
04. Little Fluffy Clouds (Dance Mk II) 08:25
05. Little Fluffy Clouds (Heavyweight Dub) 06:30
06. Outlands (Fountain Of Elisha Mix) 08:05

INFO > In 1988, former Killing Joke roadie Alex Patterson and artist/musician Jimmy Cauty formed The Orb. As DJs in the chill out room at Paul Oakenfold’s Land Of Oz club night, the duo pioneered the ambient house genre, which favors relaxing atmosphere over pounding percussion. The two parted ways in 1990; Cauty focused on his other project, The KLF, while Patterson continued The Orb with Killing Joke bassist Martin Glover (aka Youth). Initially released in 1990, “Little Fluffy Clouds” is a genre defying classic, featuring samples from an interview with Rickie Lee Jones, as well as elements lifted from Steve Reich’s “Electric Counterpoint.” This 1991 US CD single includes mixes by Coldcut and Pal Joey, along with a remix of “Outlands” by Thomas Fehlmann, who would go on to be a longtime member of The Orb.

Little Fluffy Clouds

Front 242 – Rhythm Of Time (US Promo)

Front 242
“Rhythm Of Time”
1991 Epic Records (US)
ESK 3091

01. Rhythm Of Time (7)
02. Rhythm Of Time (12)
03. Rhythm Of Time (Anti-G Mix)
04. Rhythm Of Time (Victor The Cleaner)

INFO > When well-established industrial outfit Front 242 signed a contract with major label Sony in 1990, faithful followers of the band braced for a stylistic sellout. However, artistic compromise wasn’t part of the deal, and the group promptly produced one of their best albums, “Tyranny >For You<.” This US promo CD of that album’s third single is distinguished from its commercial counterpart by the inclusion of an edit and alternate artwork. ‘Victor The Cleaner’ is one of The Orb’s most danceable remixes, far removed from their usual ambient excursions.