Category Archives: Norman Cook

Street Tuff


01 Street Tuff (Scar Radio Mix)
02 Street Tuff (Club Radio Mix)
03 Street Tuff (Scar Mix)
04 Street Tuff (Club Mix)
05 Street Tuff (Robin Albers Mix)
06 Street Tuff (Norman Cook Mix)
07 Street Tuff (Longsy D Remix)
08 Street Tuff (Ruff Mix)
09 Street Tuff (Bass Heavy Mix)
10 Street Tuff (Norman Cook Instrumental)
11 Street Tuff (Time To Rock Dub)

INFO > Double Trouble and Rebel MC’s second single “Street Tuff” peaked at 3 on the UK Singles Chart in 1989.

The Payback Mix


01 The Payback Mix (Keep On Doing What You’re Doing)
02 Give It Up Or Turn It A Loose (Remix)
03 I Got You [I Feel Good]
04 Payback (The Final Mixdown)
05 She’s The One (Funky Drummer Remix)
06 Cold Sweat

INFO > James Brown would have turned 80 today; however, the hardest working man in show business left the building forever in 2006. To celebrate the Godfather of Soul’s birthday, here’s a 1988 EP featuring funky mixes from Coldcut, Norman Cook, Shem McCauley, and Tim Rogers.

Aztec Camera and Mick Jones – Good Morning Britain

Aztec Camera and Mick Jones
“Good Morning Britain”
1990 Sire Records (US)
9 21775-2

01. Good Morning Britain (Album Version)
02. Good Morning Britain (Live)
03. Good Morning Britain (Mendelsohn Single Mix)
04. Good Morning Britain (Morning Acid Mix)
05. Consolation Prize (Live)
06. Good Morning Britain (Hypno-Mix)
07. Good Morning Britain (Hypnomental)
08. Good Morning Britain (Hypno-Edit)

INFO > Roddy Frame collaborated with Mick Jones on this 1990 UK Top 20 single, which sounds decidedly more like Big Audio Dynamite than Aztec Camera. Mick also appears on the live version, and Roddy duets with Edwyn Collins on a cover of Orange Juice’s “Consolation Prize”, both recorded at Glasgow Barrowlands on 4 August 1990. Julian Mendelsohn, Norman Cook, and The Laylow Posse all have a go reworking the track.

Note: The ‘Hypno-Mix’, ‘Hypnomental’, and ‘Hypno-Edit’ mixes correspond to the ‘Kitsch ‘n’ Sync Mix’, ‘Instrumental’, and ‘Vocal Remix’ on the UK 12″ single, and also The Laylow Posse 12″ Remix, Instrumental, and 7″ Remix on the UK promo issue.


Pizzaman – Gottaman

1997 Cowboy Records (UK)

01. Gottaman (Eat Me Edit)
02. Gottaman (Pizzaman Mix)
03. Gottaman (Distant Drums Mix)
04. Gottaman (Gregorio Mix)

INFO > Produced by Play Boys and Norman Cook, “Gottaman” was Cowboy’s last commercial release (a DJ promo remix pack of William Pitt’s “City Lights” bears the label’s final catalog number, RODEO 957 12DJ). The Distant Drums duo of Simeon Friend and Mike Mukhopadhyay (also in Beat Foundation) provide a progressive house rework.


Ramp – Rock The Discotek ’96

“Rock The Discotek ’96”
1996 Loaded Records (UK)

01. Rock The Discotek (Seven Inch Mix)
02. Rock The Discotek (Club Mix)
03. Rock The Discotek (Live It! Mix)
04. Rock The Discotek (Play Boys Fully Loaded Dub)
05. Rock The Discotek (Pizzaman Remix)
06. Rock The Discotek (DJ Icey Remix)
07. Rock The Discotek (Original Mix)*

*Bonus track, sourced from the Dutch issue on Royal Records

INFO > Simon Rogers’ diverse resume includes composing music for ballets, a stint in South American folk group Incantation, jamming with Mark E. Smith in The Fall, producing albums for Peter Murphy and The Lightning Seeds, and scoring television programs. As DJ Streets Ahead, Shem McCauley remixed Betty Boo, Was (Not Was), Roxanne Shante, Digital Underground, James Brown, Herb Alpert and others in the late 1980s and early 1990s. Rogers and McCauley first worked together on the single “Electrofear” by short-lived electro collective Nation 12, after which they remixed “Winter In July” by Bomb The Bass. The duo then honed their house skills as Ramp, delivering loads of distinct remixes during the mid-1990s. First released in 1994, “Rock The Discotek” was Ramp’s second single; this reissue features vocals by Ricardo Da Force and new mixes from Loaded labelmates Pizzaman (Norman Cook) and Play Boys (John Reid and Tim Jefferey, who also founded the label).


Fatboy Slim – The Rockafeller Skank (US Promo)

Fatboy Slim
“The Rockafeller Skank”
1999 Astralwerks (US)
ASW CD-PRO 69932-2

01. The Rockafeller Skank (Edit 1) 04:00
02. The Rockafeller Skank (Edit 2) 03:27
03. The Rockafeller Skank (Edit 3) 03:59
04. The Rockafeller Skank (Album Version) 06:53
05. The Rockafeller Skank (Callout Hook) 00:15

INFO > Musical chameleon Norman Cook has been racking up hits for over 25 years, first finding success as bassist for The Housemartins. Since then, he’s recorded under various aliases, including Beats International, Freak Power, Pizzaman, and The Mighty Dub Katz. However, Cook is best known as big beat party starter Fatboy Slim. Sampling Just Brothers, Bobby Fuller, John Barry, and The Art of Noise, “The Rockafeller Skank” was the first single from Cook’s 1998 album, “You’ve Come A Long Way, Baby,” and peaked at 6 on the UK Singles Chart.