Category Archives: New Order

Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (US Promo)

New Order
“Guilt Is A Useless Emotion” (US Promo)
2005 Warner Bros. Records (US)

01 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Album Version)
02 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (DJ Dan Club Mix)
03 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Bill Hamel Vocal Mix)
04 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (MARK!’s True N.O. Vox)
05 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Morel’s Pink Noise Mix)
06 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (DJ Dan Mixshow)
07 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Mac Quayle Extended)
08 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Morel’s Pink Noise Dub)
09 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (MARK!’s True N.O. Dub)

Exclusive to the US, “Guilt Is A Useless Emotion” is an unofficial fourth single issued from New Order’s eighth album, “Waiting For The Sirens’ Call.” A digital single of edited mixes was released commercially through iTunes in November 2005; all full-length versions are only available on this promotional CD.

Orkestra Obsolete – Blue Monday

New Order’s classic 12″ single “Blue Monday” (FAC 73) was released 34 years ago, on 07 March 1983 (which was, in fact, a Monday).

Last year, the mysterious musician collective Orkestra Obsolete reimagined “Blue Monday” using archaic instruments from the 1930s, including: theremin, musical saw, harmonium, and prepared piano. It is amazing.

More Monday: If you’ve not seen “Shaun Of The Dead” (2004), do so as soon as possible. Until then, watch this scene—the relevant moment comes one minute in:

Electro House Mixes (UK Promo)

Electro House Mixes (UK Promo)

New Order
“Electro House Mixes”
2005 London Records (UK)
Promo CD-R

01 Regret (Tocadisco Remix) | 06:01
02 Regret (Tocadisco Dub) | 05:39
03 True Faith (King Roc Remix) | 08:21
04 Jetstream (Jacques Lu Cont Dub) | 08:34
05 Waiting For The Sirens’ Call (Asle Dub) | 09:21

The remixes on this promotional CD-R became commercially available in 2006 as part of the New Order “12 X 12” vinyl campaign issued via New State Recordings.

Waiting For The Sirens’ Call


New Order
“Waiting For The Sirens’ Call”
2005 London Records (UK)
NUOCD15 / PR015508 / Promo CD-R

01 Waiting For The Sirens’ Call (Rich Costey Mix) | 05:41
02 Waiting For The Sirens’ Call (Jacknife Lee Remix) | 06:13
03 Bizarre Love Triangle (Richard X Remix Full Length) | 07:04
04 Everything’s Gone Green (Martin Buttrich Remix) | 04:54
05 Temptation (Secret Machines Remix Full Length) | 07:23
06 Everything’s Gone Green (Cicada Remix) | 04:36
07 Waiting For The Sirens’ Call (Jacknife Lee Remix Edit) | 04:13
08 Waiting For The Sirens’ Call (Rich Costey Radio Edit) | 3:53

WFTSC (Planet Funk Mixes)

New Order
“Waiting For The Sirens’ Call” (Planet Funk Mixes)
2005 Warner Bros. Records (UK)
Promo CD-R

01 Waiting For The Sirens’ Call (Planet Funk Remix) | 07:26
02 Waiting For The Sirens’ Call (Planet Funk Dub) | 08:12

Released in 2005, “Waiting For The Sirens’ Call” was New Order’s last single with erstwhile bassist Peter Hook. The CD release includes only two mixes; however, a treble set of 7″ singles features commendable remixes of classic tunes. Those versions (and more) were also made available on various promotional CDs.

New Order have occasionally based live arrangements of some songs on remixes; however, it came as quite a surprise to hear the band play the obscure but excellent Planet Funk remix of “WFTSC” on their current tour.



New Order
2001 Reprise Records (US)
9 42397-2

01 Crystal (Radio Edit) | 04:19
02 Crystal (Digweed & Muir Bedrock Edit) | 04:16
03 Crystal (Digweed & Muir Bedrock Mix) | 12:52
04 Crystal (Digweed & Muir Bedrock Dub) | 10:33
05 Crystal (Lee Coombs Remix) | 08:44
06 Crystal (Lee Coombs Dub) | 07:04
07 Crystal (John Creamer & Stephane K Intro Remix) | 03:22
08 Crystal (John Creamer & Stephane K Main Remix) | 11:25
09 Behind Closed Doors | 05:24

While collectors across the pond received only some versions and edited mixes of “Crystal” across multiple discs, US consumers were treated to a right proper maxi CD of New Order’s 2001 single.

LIVE > New Order’s current tour in support of “Music Complete” brings them to the Philadelphia area this evening for a sold out show at the Tower Theater.

Rest In Peace, St. Anthony

In memory of Tony Wilson, who would have turned 66 today.

St. Anthony: An Ode to Anthony H. Wilson
by Mike Garry & Joe Duddell

Blue Monday-95


01 Blue Monday (Original Mix)
02 Blue Monday (Hardfloor Remix)
03 Blue Monday (Jam & Spoon Manuela Mix)
04 True Faith (Shep Pettibone Mix)
05 1963 (Lionrock Full Throttle Mix)
06 Let’s Go

FACT > On the UK & EU packaging of its 1995 reissue, “Blue Monday” appears as “Blauer Montag”—a clever reference to the track having been remixed exclusively by German producers. This Canadian CD EP includes tracks from “1963”, released as a single the prior year. Note that “Let’s Go” on this release differs slightly from the US version, “Let’s Go (Nothing For Me).”



01 Temptation
02 Hurt
03 Everything’s Gone Green
04 Procession
05 Mesh

FACT > Initially created for Factory’s US subsidiary, this EP compiles three of New Order’s earliest singles—transitional productions that effectively formed a bridge between the group’s first album, “Movement”, and their second, “Power, Corruption & Lies.” This CD issue from 1989 was exclusive to Canada, and alters the track order from the original US edition. Also, FEP 313 printed on the insert is the catalog number for the Canadian 12″; this cover text is more commonly seen as FACTUS 8, the proper Factory US catalog code.

In the comments of the previous post, Asteroid327 suggested soliciting Top 10 lists of favorite New Order songs. Fair enough—I’ll start the ball rolling:

Shelf’s Top 10 New Order Songs

01 Temptation (1982)
02 Bizarre Love Triangle (1986)
03 Your Silent Face (1983)
04 Blue Monday (1983)
05 Age Of Consent (1983)
06 Face Up (1985)
07 Thieves Like Us (1984)
08 Round & Round (1989)
09 Love Less (1989)
10 1963 (1987)

Feel free to share your favorite New Order tracks in comments.

New Order : Music Complete


Release Date: 25 September 2015

N E W  O R D E R

Bizarre Love Triangle


01 Bizarre Love Triangle (Album Version)
02 Bizarre Love Triangle (Extended Dance Mix)
03 I Don’t Care
04 State Of The Nation
05 Bizarre Love Triangle (Single Remix)

FACT > While 50 Pound Note’s brilliant blog Recycle was still active, I didn’t dare post any Factory-era New Order material here—it would have been pointless to compete with that project’s unparalleled quality. However, with Recycle no longer ongoing, New Order is fair game once again. The band’s 1986 single, “Bizarre Love Triangle” is a dance classic, thanks in no small part to Shep Pettibone’s excellent extension. The tune’s stateside popularity proved indefatigable, so much so that Warner Brothers issued a CD single in 1994—eight years after the single’s original release.

Trivia > When asked by US label reps what the dub version should be named, New Order’s manager Rob Gretton allegedly responded, “I don’t care,” and that’s exactly what was printed (of course, it’s really “Bizarre Dub Triangle”).

LIVE > Peter Hook & The Light are currently on tour, performing New Order’s “Low Life” and “Brotherhood” albums, along with related material from that period. Last time Hooky was in town, I arrived late and missed the band’s opening set of Joy Division tunes; punctuality shall be exercised this evening.