Category Archives: Mike Oldfield

Book Of Love – Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls

Book Of Love
“Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls”
1988 Sire Records (US)
0-20963 / PRO-S-3281

01. Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls (Extended Mix)
02. Tubular Bells (7″ Mix)
03. Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls (7″ Mix)
04. Tubular Bells/Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls (Regan’s Medley)
05. Tubular Bells/Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls (Medley Edit)

INFO > “Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls” is taken from Book Of Love’s sophomore album, 1988’s “Lullaby”. Over an insistent beat and sparkling synths, the song’s lyrics allude to the then-burgeoning AIDS epidemic, which received little exposure at the time despite the disease’s deadly impact. “Lullaby” opens with a cover of Mike Oldfield’s “Tubular Bells” segueing into “Pretty Boys And Pretty Girls”; that concept is expanded for the epic ‘Regan’s House Medley’ (a reference to the lead character from “The Exorcist”).


Mike Oldfield – Let There Be Light

Mike Oldfield
“Let There Be Light”
1995 Reprise Records (US)
9 43561-2

01. Let There Be Light
02. Let There Be Light (BT’s Pure Luminescence Remix)
03. Let There Be Light (The Ultraviolet Mix Edit)
04. Let There Be Light (Hardfloor Remix)
05. Let There Be Light (Hardfloor Dub)
06. Let There Be Light (BT’s Entropic Dub)

INFO > Mike Oldfield’s groundbreaking 1973 album “Tubular Bells” helped lay the foundation for the New Age genre, as well as Virgin founder Richard Branson’s future fortunes. No artist was immune to the remix treatment during the 90s; Oldfield’s 1995 single “Let There Be Light” was reworked by Brian Transeau and Hardfloor.