Category Archives: Mark Picchiotti

Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (US Promo)

New Order
“Guilt Is A Useless Emotion” (US Promo)
2005 Warner Bros. Records (US)

01 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Album Version)
02 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (DJ Dan Club Mix)
03 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Bill Hamel Vocal Mix)
04 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (MARK!’s True N.O. Vox)
05 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Morel’s Pink Noise Mix)
06 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (DJ Dan Mixshow)
07 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Mac Quayle Extended)
08 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (Morel’s Pink Noise Dub)
09 Guilt Is A Useless Emotion (MARK!’s True N.O. Dub)

Exclusive to the US, “Guilt Is A Useless Emotion” is an unofficial fourth single issued from New Order’s eighth album, “Waiting For The Sirens’ Call.” A digital single of edited mixes was released commercially through iTunes in November 2005; all full-length versions are only available on this promotional CD.



01 Cold (LP Edit)
02 Cold (Mark!’s Adventurous Mix Edit)
03 Cold (Ralphi’s Club Mix)
04 Blue (LP Mix)

INFO > “Cold” was the third single lifted from William LaTour’s eponymous debut LP. Mark Picchiotti and Ralphi Rosario were on remix duty for the 1992 release.

People Are Still Having Sex (US Promo)


01 People Are Still Having Sex (Radio Edit)
02 People Are Still Having Sex (LP Mix)
03 People Are Still Having Sex (Mark’s Missionary Mix)
04 People Are Still Having Sex (Crunch-Ø-Mix)
05 People Are Still Having Sex (Mo’ Sleezy Mix)
06 People Are Still Having Sex (Ralphi’s Orgasmic Mix)

INFO > William ‘Bud’ LaTour began his professional career as an on-air personality, working at various radio stations in Arizona during the early-to-mid 1980s. That environment fostered his talents for performing voice-overs and writing song parodies, much in the same vein as ‘Weird Al’ Yankovic.

LaTour relocated to Chicago in 1987 and continued climbing the ranks in radio, while also finding time to start a punk band, The Squids, and work as an engineer in a recording studio. Producing tracks with ‘Housemaster’ Terry Baldwin piqued Bud’s interest in dance music and inspired his next endeavor: solo artist.

LaTour’s debut, “People Are Still Having Sex”, was an unusual and controversial song in 1991, which no doubt helped it’s chart placement: the single cracked the US Top 40 and peaked at 15 in the UK. Concurrent with his mainstream success and underground following with The Squids, LaTour continued working in radio, which has always remained his true passion.

The promotional video features the Safe Sex 7″ mix, which changes the line “This AIDS thing’s not working,” to “This safe thing’s not working.”

Always On My Mind


01 Always On My Mind (Full Intention Radio)
02 Always On My Mind (Full Intention Electric Funk Mix)
03 Always On My Mind (Tall Paul’s INCredible Remix)
04 Always On My Mind (Full Intention Electric Funk Dub)
05 Always On My Mind (Mark!’s Kiwi Dream House Dub)
06 Always On My Mind (Colour System Inc Amber Vox)
07 Always On My Mind (Colour System Inc Gold Vox)
08 Always On My Mind (Southern Cross Vocal Mix)*

*Bonus track

INFO > Sam Mollison’s 1998 single “Always On My Mind” was the first release on Sony’s INCredible dance imprint. There are yet more remixes across various slabs of vinyl, but curiously, no original version.

I Like It


01 I Like It (Lisa Marie Radio Experience)
02 I Like It (Lisa Marie Vocal Experience)
03 I Like It (Fire Island Main Mix)
04 I Like It (Victor’s (Green) Light & Sexy Vocal Mix)
05 I Like It (Mark!’s Shelter Vocal)

INFO > Twenty years ago, DJ Angel Moraes set up the Hot ‘N’ Spycy imprint and started producing deep and dirty house hits like “Heaven Knows” and “Welcome To The Factory.” In 1996, Subversive picked up Moraes’ 1994 single “I Like It” and tapped Heller & Farley for new mixes; AM:PM subsequently licensed that package and added additional mixes by Lisa Marie Experience, Victor Imbres, Mark Picchiotti, and Phil Kelsey for a 1997 reissue.