Category Archives: Marc Kinchen

All I Do


Jane Child
“All I Do”
1993 Warner Bros. Records (US)
9 41372-2

01 All I Do (Album Edit)
02 All I Do (TG Mix)
03 Do Whatcha Do (Nu Club Mix)
04 All I Do (MK Mix)
05 Here Not There (Radio Version)

Keep The Promise (CA Promo)


“Keep The Promise” (CA Promo)
1992 Polydor Records (CA)
PCD 298

01 Keep The Promise (Fantasy 12″)
02 Keep The Promise (Reality 12″)
03 Keep The Promise (12″ Hip Hop Mix)
04 Keep The Promise (MK Mix)
05 Keep The Promise (Deep Dub Mix)
06 Keep The Promise (Album Version)

German drummer Jens Müller fancied himself a rapper in the early-1990s (he should have stuck to drumming). His 1992 single “Keep The Promise” comes off as a poor attempt to copy Pop Will Eat Itself. Ben Grosse and Marc Kinchen were tasked with remixing the song, although as the saying goes, you can’t polish a turd…

Professional Widow


01 Professional Widow (LP Mix)
02 Professional Widow (Armand’s Star Trunk Funkin’ Mix)
03 Professional Widow (MK Mix)
04 Professional Widow (Just Da Funk Dub)
05 Professional Widow (MK Vampire Dub)
06 Professional Widow (Armand’s Instrumental)
07 Professional Widow (Bonus Beats)


01 Professional Widow (Armand’s Radio Edit)
02 Professional Widow (Mr. Roy’s 7″ Edit)
03 Professional Widow (Armand’s Star Trunk Funkin’ Mix)
04 Professional Widow (Mr. Roy’s Cosmic Cottage Mix)
05 Professional Widow (Just Da Funk Dub)

INFO > Singer-songwriter Tori Amos (born Myra Ellen Amos) unexpectedly packed dancefloors in 1996, thanks to Armand Van Helden’s drastic revision of “Professional Widow” (subtitled ‘It’s Got To Be Big’ in Europe), in which Van Helden sliced and diced the song’s lyrics into something very different. The US single edition also includes mixes by Marc Kinchen, while the UK/EU release features Mr. Roy’s rework of Van Helden’s groove.

Heart Of Glass (1995)


01 Heart Of Glass (Diddy’s Adorable Edit)
02 Heart Of Glass (Diddy’s Adorable Illusion Mix)
03 Heart Of Glass (Richie Jones Club Mix)
04 Heart Of Glass (MK 12″ Mix)
05 Heart Of Glass (Original 12″ Mix)

INFO > In 1995, Blondie’s back catalog received the remix treatment for compilations “Remixed Remade Remodeled” (US) and “Beautiful – The Remix Album” (UK/EU); the respective releases feature different mixes and share only five common tracks. The band’s 1979 disco classic “Heart Of Glass” was made over by Richard ‘Diddy’ Dearlove, Richie Jones, and Marc Kinchen.

Going Round


01 Going Round (Dancing Divaz Radio Edit)
02 Going Round (Micky P 7″)
03 Going Round (Dancing Divaz Club Mix)
04 Going Round (UBQ Original Mix)
05 Going Round (MK Dub)
06 Going Round (SDA Club Mix)

INFO > New Yorker D’Bora Lippett was a member of pioneering female rap group Mercedes Ladies before starting a solo career in 1984. House hit “Going Round” from 1995 features mixes from Dancing Divas, Micky P, Marc Kinchen, and SDA.

When You Made The Mountain


01 When You Made The Mountain (Radio Edit)
02 When You Made The Mountain (MK Remix Edit)
03 When You Made The Mountain (Afro Cuban Radio Edit)
04 When You Made The Mountain (Extended Mix)
05 When You Made The Mountain (MK Remix)
06 When You Made The Mountain (Afro Cuban Trance Mix)
07 When You Made The Mountain (MK Dub)
08 When You Made The Mountain (Paul Gotel Club Mix)
09 When You Made The Mountain (Well Hung Parliament Adventure)

INFO > “When You Made The Mountain” was issued to promote OIII’s 1994 sophomore album, “Guru Mother.” The single was reworked by Marc Kinchen, Tony Garcia, and Paul Gotel; tracks from the US promo and commercial releases are consolidated here.

Follow Your Heart


01 Follow Your Heart (Reese Original Mix)
02 Follow Your Heart (MK Mix)
03 Follow Your Heart (Reese Trance Dance Mix)
04 Follow Your Heart (Komix Club Mix)
05 Follow Your Heart (Altern 8 Annihil 8 Mix)
06 Follow Your Heart (Reese Deep Space Mix)

INFO > US exclusive 1992 single from Kevin and Ann Saunderson.

Masters At Work – I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95


01 I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95 (Choice Hip Hop Edit)
02 I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95 (No Sleep Edit)
03 I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95 (Morales Late Nite Edit)
04 I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95 (Low Down Mix)
05 I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95 (No Sleep In ’95 Mix)
06 I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95 (Ken Lou Mix)
07 I Can’t Get No Sleep ’95 (MK Mix)

INFO > Originally released in 1993, this house anthem by Kenny ‘Dope’ Gonzales and ‘Little’ Louie Vega (with India on vocals) was reissued two years later with new mixes from David Morales, Marc Kinchen, and the Masters themselves.

NOTE > Anyone have the limited edition CD single?

M People – Moving On Up

M People
“Moving On Up”
1994 Epic Records (US)
49K 77417

01. Moving On Up (M People Master Edit)
02. Moving On Up (M People Master Mix)
03. Moving On Up (MK Movin’ Mix)
04. Moving On Up (Roger S. Gospel Revival Mix)
05. Someday (Sasha’s Full Master)

INFO > Formed in 1990, M People includes Mike Pickering (Quando Quango), Paul Heard (Ace Of Clubs), Andrew “Shovell” Lovell (Natural Life), and Heather Small (Hot House). The group enjoyed great success throughout the 1990s with a string of hit singles and best-selling albums, not to mention a couple of BRIT Awards and the 1994 Mercury Prize. The belated US issue of “Moving On Up” benefited from new remixes by Marc Kinchen, which joined mixes produced by Roger Sanchez, and the band’s original versions. This CD maxi features three of those cuts, as well as a previously promo only mix of “Someday” from 1992.


Happyhead – Digital Love Thing (US Promo)

“Digital Love Thing”
1992 EastWest Records America (US)
PRCD 4606-2

01. Digital Love Thing (LP Version)
02. Love Kills (Bryce Mix)
03. Get Out The Cab, Babe (X-Rated Dub Version)
04. Hand On My Heart (Live)
05. Digital Love Thing (Extended MK Mix)

INFO > Happyhead was a short-lived project of former Shreikback guitarist and vocalist Carl Marsh. With a stylistic nod to Madchester and Grebo, the band produced one album, “Give Happyhead”, and an accompanying single, “Fabulous.” There were several promotional pressings of “Digital Love Thing”; this CD includes a variety of exclusive material: a remix by Marc Kinchen, alternate mixes of album tracks “Love Kills” and “Get Out Of The Cab, Babe”, and a live cover of Shreikback’s “Hand On My Heart.”