Category Archives: Lightning Seeds

You Showed Me (CD 2)


01 You Showed Me (Radio Edit)
02 You Showed Me (Tee’s Alternative Mix)
03 You Showed Me (Tee’s Club Mix)
04 You Showed Me (Tee’s Freeze Mix)
05 You Showed Me (TNT’s Frozen Dub)
06 You Showed Me (Bonus Beats)
07 You Showed Me (Tee’s Radio)

INFO > Originally intended as a B-side, Ian Broudie’s cover of “You Showed Me” was ultimately deemed album worthy, appearing on The Lightning Seeds’ 1996 LP “Dizzy Heights.” The song was written by Jim McGuinn and Gene Clark of The Byrds, and recorded by The Turtles in 1968. Sampling The Turtles’ original, Broudie’s version was issued as the fourth single from “Dizzy Heights”, and reached 8 on the UK Singles Chart in 1997. The tune is also included on the soundtrack to “Austin Powers: International Man Of Mystery.”

Three Lions


01 Three Lions
02 Three Lions (Jules Rimet Extended Mix)
03 Three Lions (Karaoke Version)

INFO > Written and performed by Ian Broudie and the comic duo of David Baddiel and Frank Skinner, “Three Lions” was the official song of the England national football team for the 1996 UEFA Euro Championship. The single topped the UK Singles Chart in June and quickly became an enduring anthem. Re-recorded with new lyrics in 1998, the tune once again reached number 1, and subsequent versions and reissues have also enjoyed chart success. Simon Rogers’ remix is exclusive to the original release.

The Lightning Seeds – Sense

The Lightning Seeds
1992 MCA Records (US)

01. Sense (Album Version)
02. The Life Of Riley (Tony Garcia Radio Mix)
03. Flaming Sword
04. Lucifer Sam

INFO > I posted the promotional version of this single back in April; however the commercial issue features two tracks not included on the promo CD: the radio edit of Tony Garcia’s ‘Rileyrama’ remix of “The Life Of Riley”; and Broudie’s cover of “Flaming Sword”, a song which he originally recorded with Paul Simpson as Care in 1983.


The Lightning Seeds – All I Want

The Lightning Seeds
“All I Want”
1990 Ghetto Recording Company (UK) / MCA Records (US)
CDGTG9 / CD45-1018

01. All I Want
02. All I Want (Extended Version)
03. Persuasion
04. All I Want (Club Mix Edit)
05. All I Want (Club Mix)

INFO > “All I Want” was initially featured on The Seeds’ 1989 debut EP, “Pure”; Broudie re-recorded the tune for a proper single release the following year. Cenzo Townshend produced the UK Extended Version while Simon Rogers created the Club Mix for a US 12″ (the edit is exclusive to the US promo CD).


The Lightning Seeds – Sense (US Promo)

The Lightning Seeds
1992 MCA Records (US)

01. Sense 04:13
02. Lucifer Sam 03:05
03. The Life Of Riley (Rileyrama Mix) 05:25
04. Blowing Bubbles (Bigger Bubble Mix) 04:42
05. Open Goals 03:32
06. Something In The Air 03:37

INFO > In 1989, prodigious producer Ian Broudie turned his studio skills toward a recording career as The Lightning Seeds and quickly scored hits with “Pure” and “All I Want.” This US promotional single of “Sense” features several exclusive tracks: Tony Garcia’s extended remix of “The Life Of Riley,” a remix of “Blowing Bubbles” by Matt and Paul Sherrod, and the original version of “Open Goals” (a different mix appears on Broudie’s 1994 album, “Jollification”).