Category Archives: JUNIOR BOY’S OWN

Say What!


X-Press 2
“Say What!”
1993 Junior Boy’s Own (UK)

01 Say What! (London Underground Mix)
02 Say What! (London Underground Edit)
03 Say What! (A Dub For Junior)
04 Say What! (Platform Three Mix)

“Say What!” is the third single produced by Darren ‘Diesel’ House, Darren ‘Rocky’ Rock, and Ashley Beedle as X-Press 2.

Cowgirl (2000)


01 Cowgirl (Radio Edit)
02 Cowgirl (Bedrock Mix)
03 Cowgirl (Futureshock Mix)
04 Rez + Cowgirl (Live)

INFO > Underworld’s classic track “Cowgirl” was reworked and reissued in 2000 to promote the group’s live recording, “Everything, Everything.” The tune was remixed by Bedrock (John Digweed & Nick Muir) and Futureshock (Alex Tepper & Phil Dockerty).

Dirty Epic + Cowgirl


01 Dirty Guitar
02 Dirty
03 Dirty Epic
04 Cowgirl (Irish Pub In Kyoto Mix)
05 Cowgirl (Winjer Mix)
06 Cowgirl (Album Version)
07 Rez
08 River Of Bass

INFO > This US EP conveniently combines two of Underworld’s better singles, “Dirty Epic” and “Cowgirl”, along with “River Of Bass” from the group’s 1993 LP, “Dubnobasswithmyheadman.”

Born Slippy


01 Born Slippy 08.30
02 Born Slippy .NUXX 09.44
03 Born Slippy .TELEMATIC 09.39


01 Born Slippy .NUXX 11.37
02 Born Slippy .NUXX (Deep Pan) 09.59
03 Born Slippy .NUXX (Darren Price Mix) 06.31
04 Born Slippy .NUXX (Darren Price Remix) 08.11
05 Born Slippy .NUXX (Short) 04.23
06 Dark + Long (Dark Train) 10.24
07 Banstyle (Alex Reece Mix) 05.38

INFO > It was only while conducting my customary research for today’s post that I discovered the original mix of “Born Slippy.” Karl Hyde and Rick Smith’s instrumental is significantly different than their vocal version, “Born Slippy .NUXX”, which became a massive hit following its inclusion on the “Trainspotting” soundtrack. Presented here are the 1995 release and the 1996 reissue.

NOTE > It’s possible that the ‘Darren Price Remix’ of “Born Slippy .NUXX” is actually a rework of “Banstyle”—at 5.26, the lyric “Rest your head” from “Banstyle” is repeated.

JBO: A Perspective 1988-1998


01 New Order – Everything’s Gone Green
02 Mr. Fingers – Can You Feel It
03 Pete Wylie – Sinful (Tribal Mix)
04 Bocca Juniors – Raise [63 Steps To Heaven] (Redskin Rock Mix)
05 Saint Etienne – Only Love Can Break Your Heart
06 My Bloody Valentine – Soon (Andrew Weatherall Mix)
07 Primal Scream – Loaded (Weatherall Mix)
08 Lemon Interupt – Bigmouth
09 The Chemical Brothers – Song To The Siren (Original Mix)
10 Simply Red – Thrill Me (Steppin’ Razor Ambient Mix)
11 One Dove – Fallen

01 U2 – Salome (Zooromancer Remix)
02 Underworld – Rez
03 X-Press 2 – Muzik Xpress
04 Björk – Human Behaviour (Underworld Mix)
05 The Chemical Brothers – My Mercury Mouth
06 Black Science Orchestra – Save Us (Funky Music)
07 Junior Vasquez – Get Your Hands Off My Man (Fire Island Dub)
08 Ballistic Brothers – Peckings
09 Dylan Rhymes – Naked & Ashamed
10 Underworld – Moaner

INFO > In the chronicles of dance culture, few would argue the importance of Boy’s Own. Founded by Terry Farley, Steve Mayes, Andrew Weatherall, and Cymon Eckel, the Boy’s Own brand started in 1986 as a fanzine devoted to music, clubbing, football, and fashion. A sporadic series of parties soon ensued, followed by an inevitable label, Boy’s Own Recordings, in 1990.

The initial Boy’s Own imprint was distributed through London Records until 1993, when Farley took the label independent and re-christened it Junior Boy’s Own. JBO experienced huge success with the likes of The Chemical Brothers, Underworld, and X-Press 2.

“JBO: A Perspective 1988-1998” ranks among my favorite concept compilations. The collection is not a predictable retrospective, but rather a summary of the Boy’s Own sonic attitude. The journey starts with three tracks that influenced the JBO sound, followed by the label’s first single (“Raise” by Bocca Juniors), and then continues with classic remixes by the Boy’s Own gang, and a few of the imprint’s key releases.

Fire Island – There But For The Grace Of God

Fire Island
“There But For The Grace Of God”
1993 Junior Boy’s Own (UK)

01. There But For The Grace Of God (Fire Island Radio Mix)
02. There But For The Grace Of God (Roach Motel Mix)
03. There But For The Grace Of God (Roach Motel Dub)

INFO > Farley and Heller produced this cover of Machine’s 1979 disco classic under their Fire Island guise; however it’s the duo’s Roach Motel mixes that had dancefloors percolating back in the day. The boys delivered some brilliant house dubs in the 1990s—this is my favorite among them.