Category Archives: Jimmy Gomez

Looking At You


“Looking At You”
1996 Columbia Records (US)
44K 78249

01 Looking At You (Jimmy Gomez Radio Edit) | 03:35
02 Looking At You (Mendelsohn Edit) | 03:39
03 Looking At You (Jimmy Gomez Club Mix) | 10:38
04  Looking At You (Jimmy Gomez 6AM Dub) | 09:40
05 Looking At You (Corvette Mix) | 7:52
06 When (K-Klassix Mix) | 7:59

Sunscreem’s “Looking At You” was a US exclusive single in 1996 (the UK received a promo 12″); however, it was reissued two years later by Bonzai in some EU countries. The track was remixed by Jimmy Gomez (James Wiltshire) and Joe T. Vannelli; also included is the K-Klass remix of earlier single, “When.”

Last Rhythm (1996)


01 Last Rhythm (Jimmy Gomez Clubathon Edit)
02 Last Rhythm (Original Club Mix)
03 Last Rhythm (Way Out West Remix)
04 Last Rhythm (Sure Is Pure 1992 Remix)
05 Last Rhythm (Jimmy Gomez Voyage Of Discovery)

INFO > Italian production team Last Rhythm issued the original mixes of their eponymous house classic in 1990. Vocal versions appeared the following year, and then Stress picked up the single for a 1992 UK release, which includes a remix by Sure Is Pure. In 1996, Stress again reissued “Last Rhythm” with new mixes from James Wiltshire, Way Out West, and Desert.

Love Me Tonight


01 Love Me Tonight (Fathers Of Sound Xtended Mix)
02 Love Me Tonight (LuvDup Remix)
03 Love Me Tonight (Way Out West Mix)
04 Love Me Tonight (Gomez Rocks The Joint)
05 Love Me Tonight (Jimmy Gomez 6AM Mix)

INFO > Not to be confused with the same-named Philadelphia soul singer, Anthony White recorded two singles for the Italian UMM label in 1993; both were written, produced, and remixed by Gianni Bini and Fulvio Perniola (Fathers Of Sound). Stress licensed “Love Me Tonight” for a 1994 UK release featuring remixes by LuvDup, Way Out West, and James Wiltshire.

Change (1995)


01 Change (Brothers In Rhythm Edit)
02 Change (Jimmy Gomez Expresso Edit)
03 Change (Lite & Sweet Club Mix)
04 Change (Fathers Of Sound Classic Vocal Mix)
05 Change (Fathers Of Sound Sunset Vocal Mix)
06 Change (Cafe Con Daphne)

INFO > Between 1988 and 1992, Daphne Rubin-Vega was the only constant member of Pajama Party, and consequently appears on all of the freestyle trio’s recorded output. After the Party ended, Daphne embarked on a solo singing career, and then transitioned onto stage and screen, most notably starring in the original Broadway production of “Rent.” Originally issued in 1994, “Change” was Daphne’s second single, produced by Danny Tenaglia. Stress licensed the release and reissued it the following year with new mixes from Brothers In Rhythm, Fathers Of Sound, and James Wiltshire.

Careful (1997)


01 Careful (Brothers In Rhythm Radio Mix)
02 Careful (James Wiltshire Radio Mix)
03 Careful (Sasha 1992 Mix)
04 Careful (Original Version)
05 Careful (Brothers In Rhythm Soundtrack Radio Edit)
06 Careful (James Wiltshire Ambient Mix)
07 Careful (Brothers In Rhythm Soundtrack Club Edit)
08 Careful (Sasha’s Horse With No Name)
09 Careful (Jimmy Gomez Club Mix)
10 Careful (Sasha & Brothers In Rhythm Mix)

INFO > Released as a single in 1990, “Careful” is the best known work by Scottish singer-songwriter Sheena ‘Horse’ McDonald. A couple of years later, young DJ Sasha incorporated the tune into a mix for BBC Radio 1 – a daring move as the track stood in stark contrast to Sasha’s upbeat house style. Fast forward to 1997 and Stress licensed the tune for new, epic house makeovers by Sasha, Steve Anderson & Dave Seaman, and James Wiltshire.