Category Archives: JACKPOT



1997 Eye Of The Storm (DE)

01 Krakatoa (Edit)
02 Krakatoa
03 Futura
04 Futura (Edit)

“Krakatoa” was the first single produced by John Horrocks and Lee Milleare as Amethyst. Released on Jackpot in 1996, “Krakatoa” was licensed by the Eye Of The Storm label for a German release.

Contemporary Dance Music Sampler


Various Artists
“Contemporary Dance Music Sampler”
1997 7pm Music Ltd (UK)

01 Shiva – Freedom
02 Nootropic – I See Only You
03 Mother – Gotta Luv It
04 Tenth Chapter – Wired
05 Blue Amazon – And Then The Rain Falls
06 Amethyst – Futura
07 V – Anjuna
08 Shango – Tunnelvision
09 Fifty Fifty – Crazy Thing
10 Bullitt – Cried To Dream
11 Blue Amazon – Star Of David
12 Meltdown – My Life Is In Your Hands
13 Nootropic – Can’t Stop Loving You
14 Danny Campbell – Answer My Prayer
15 Danny Campbell & Sasha – Together
16 Minds Of Men – Brand New Day
17 Shiva – Let There Be Love
18 Blue Amazon – No Other Love
19 Bedrock – For What You Dream Of

This 1997 promotional CD is a companion to the “Contemporary Electronic Music Sampler” (posted here in 2011); both collections were produced to showcase talent managed by 7pm Music, which included several artists in the Jackpot stable. The track selection formats include proper radio edits, early fades of full-length mixes, and uniquely edited versions exclusive to the compilation.

Obsession (1998)


01 Obsession (StoneBridge ’98 Recon Radio)
02 Obsession (StoneBridge ’98 Recon)
03 Obsession (Danny Howells & Shango Illogical Infactuation Mix)
04 Obsession (The Throbjam Mix)

INFO > David Farrow & William Owen’s lone single as Fuzzy Logic was “Obsession”, released through Guerilla Records in 1992. The track was dusted off by the Jackpot label in 1998, and remixed by Sten Hallström and Danny Howells & Shango (Robin Green & Mark Durham). The Scandinavian CD includes William Orbit’s ‘Throbjam Mix.’

Crazy Thing


01 Crazy Thing (Radio Edit)
02 Crazy Thing (Pob’s Remix)
03 Crazy Thing (Fifty Fifty Vocal Mix)
04 Crazy Thing (Fifty Fifty Dub)

INFO > Released via Jackpot in 1996, “Crazy Thing” was the first single from Fifty Fifty: producer Jason Smith and vocalist Steve Trowell. In addition to the duo’s versions, the release includes a remix by Paul Brogden.

Electric Jesus


01 Electric Jesus (Radio Edit)
02 Electric Jesus
03 Electric Jesus (Day Of The Saints Mix)
04 Six

INFO > Amethyst comprised producers Lee Milleare and the late John Horrocks, who released six singles and an album through Jackpot. LP “Golden Fish Fever” includes contributions from vocalist Steve Hovington, who features on the 1998 single “Electric Jesus.”

You Make Me Feel So Good (1997)


01 You Make Me Feel So Good (Girl Eats Boy Drunk On Funk Mix)
02 You Make Me Feel So Good (Ernie & Bert Deep ‘N’ Hard Mix)
03 You Make Me Feel So Good (Blue Amazon’s Electramind Mix)
04 You Make Me Feel So Good (The Project Mix)

INFO > As Drum Club, Charlie Hall and Lol Hammond produced six singles, two LPs, a live album, and a couple dozen remixes before parting ways in 1996. The duo’s debut single was “U Make Me Feel So Good”, released on Guerilla Records in 1992, and remixed and reissued by Jackpot in 1997.

Beyond The Javelin


Lee Softley and James Reid met in Huddersfield while both were attending an introductory sound recording course in the early-1990s. The pair began experimenting with sounds and merging their musical influences to create something new, and thus was born Blue Amazon. Their first single was “Hyper Sleep”, released on a small independent imprint in 1993. Searching for a proper label, the duo sent out demos that ultimately reached Seven Webster, whose 7PM management clients included Sasha, John Digweed, Brian Transeau, StoneBridge, and Shiva. Webster realized Blue Amazon’s potential and set up Jackpot Records as an outlet for BA’s burgeoning epic house sound. The label’s first release, “Four Seasons”, was promptly played by Sasha and Digweed—the connection between 7PM and Jackpot proved convenient and fruitful.

With rapidly building success from their own productions and remixes for other artists, Softley and Reid signed with Sony’s S3 label in 1997; however, the contract would be short lived. S3 issued BA’s sole album, “The Javelin”, along with new mixes of “And Then The Rain Falls” and “No Other Love.” BA then moved to the Subversive label and recorded a trio of singles with more of an indie band feel. Around that same time in the late-90s, Softley and Reid founded Convert Recordings to distribute music by artists they liked, along with the occasional new BA offering. James Reid parted ways with Lee Softley in 2001, leaving Softley to carry on Blue Amazon as a solo project.

“Beyond The Javelin” compiles Blue Amazon’s Jackpot singles, reworks of material from “The Javelin”, and BA’s DMC remixes for other artists. As he did for the blog’s other custom collections, graphic designer Harry3 conceived the elegant artwork, which reprises clever elements first featured on the Skinnymalinky compilation posted last month. Ya gotta love the guy’s style…


If you’re looking for more Blue Amazon, I recommend the very affordable digital release, “The Hybrid”, a best of collection that expands upon the concept of “Beyond The Javelin” (and with only a minimal number of redundant tracks). You’ll find the best deal for “The Hybrid” at 7Digital: $6.99 (US site) or £5.49 (UK site).

BLUE AMAZON on Facebook
BLUE AMAZON on SoundCloud


And Then The Rain Falls


01 And Then The Rain Falls (Radio Edit)
02 And Then The Rain Falls (Original Mix)
03 And Then The Rain Falls (Jamie Myerson Remix)
04 And Then The Rain Falls (Mark Turner Epical Hop Mix)
05 And Then The Rain Falls (Javelin Mix)
06 And Then The Rain Falls (Angel’s Garage Dub)
07 And Then The Rain Falls (Blame Remix)

INFO > Released in 1997, “And Then The Rain Falls” was Blue Amazon’s fourth and final 12″ for Jackpot, and the group’s first single for Sony’s S3 dance imprint. The original mix is a massively building epic house classic; however, the remixes are mostly disposable, with the exception of Angel Moraes’ hypnotic dub.

Jackpot Presents Guerilla EP


01 Tenth Chapter – Prologue (Carl Cox & PvD Radio Mix)
02 Tenth Chapter – Prologue (Carl Cox & PvD Mix)
03 Tenth Chapter – Prologue (Atlas’ 1st Addition Mix)
04 Tenth Chapter – Whiteland
05 Drum Club – You Make Me Feel So Good (Girl Eats Boy Mix)
06 Drum Club – You Make Me Feel So Good (Ernie & Bert Mix)
07 Drum Club – You Make Me Feel So Good (Blue Amazon Mix)
08 Drum Club – You Make Me Feel So Good (The Project Mix)
09 React 2 Rhythm – Intoxication (Leftfield’s Clubfield Mix)

INFO > Exclusive to Australia and New Zealand, this 1997 release combines two remixed Guerilla singles issued by Jackpot, with a React 2 Rhythm track tacked on for good measure.



01 Wired (Rewired)
02 Wired (Stonk Remix)
03 Wired (Original Mix)

INFO > Prog house classic from Nathan Cable and Terry Spencer Hopkins; big with Sasha and Digweed. Simon Noble (Breeder) and Andrew Souter produced the ‘Stonk Remix.’