Category Archives: Ivan Ivan

Disco Dancer


“Disco Dancer”
1988 Enigma Records (US)

01 Disco Dancer (7-Inch Version)
02 Disco Dancer (12-Inch Version)
03 Disco Dancer (Bonus Beats)
04 Disco Dancer (Karaoke Version)

DE-EVOLUTION: the idea that instead of continuing to evolve, mankind has actually begun to regress, as evidenced by the dysfunction and herd mentality of American society.

The above theory was postulated by Gerald Casale and Bob Lewis while they were attending Kent State University in the late-1960s. While conceived as a joke, the concept of ‘de-evolution’ can now be considered an axiom, supported by societal behavior displayed over the past 40+ years.

The first incarnation of Devo was formed in 1973, and debuted that year at the Kent State Creative Arts Festival. Following a few band member changes, a longtime lineup was achieved: Gerald Casale, Bob Casale, Mark Mothersbaugh, and Bob Mothersbaugh (along with various drummers).

The visionary Spudboys from Ohio realized the power of video early on; their short film “The Truth About De-Evolution” caught the attention of David Bowie, who helped Devo in securing a recording contract with Warner Bros. in 1978. The group enjoyed its greatest success in the early-1980s, but things went downhill as the decade progressed.

After being dumped by WB, Devo regrouped and signed with Enigma Records for two LPs, which proved to be critical and commercial failures. Remixed by Ivan Ivan, “Disco Dancer” was the first of two singles issued from the album “Total Devo.”

Behind The Wheel (US Promo)


Depeche Mode
“Behind The Wheel” (US Promo)
1988 Sire Records (US)

01 Behind The Wheel (7″ Remix)
02 Behind The Wheel / Route 66 (Mega-Single Mix)
03 Route 66 / Behind The Wheel (Mega-Single Mix)
04 Behind The Wheel / Route 66 (Megamix)
05 Behind The Wheel (Beatmasters Mix)
06 Behind The Wheel (Extended Remix)

While the boys from Basildon have popped up on several compilations featured here, Depeche Mode has never been the focus of a post until now. “Behind The Wheel” is one of my favorite DM singles, and while the album version is the definitive mix, the remixes are excellent. Shep Pettibone and The Beatmasters pep up the beats to make the track more dancefloor-friendly, while Ivan Baker creates a megamix with B-side “Route 66.”

Figures On A Beach – Accidentally 4th Street (US Promo)

01 Accidentally 4th Street [Gloria] (7″ Remix)
02 Accidentally 4th Street [Gloria] (LP Version)
03 Accidentally 4th Street [Gloria] (12″ Remix)

INFO > Taken from FOAB’s eponymous 1989 album, “Accidentally 4th Street” was the band’s final release. Ivan Ivan’s original production is kicked up a notch by Ben Grosse’s slick remix.

Figures On A Beach – You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet (US Promo)

Figures On A Beach
“You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet” (US Promo)
1989 Sire Records (US)

01. You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet (7″ Freestyle Edit) 03:54
02. You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet (12″ Freestyle Mix) 06:15
03. You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet (12″ Club Mix) 06:09
04. You Ain’t Seen Nothing Yet (LP Version) 04:07

1, 2, 3 > Additional production and remix by Justin Strauss

INFO > Active through the 1980s, US synthpop group Figures On A Beach never managed to make it big. After releasing a couple of independent singles, the band signed with Sire and recorded two albums with producer Ivan Ivan. This energetic cover of Bachman-Turner Overdrive’s 1974 hit was FOAB’s only brush with chart success.