Category Archives: HOOJ CHOONS

I Lift My Cup


“I Lift My Cup”
1993 Radikal Records (US)
CDS 12394-2

01 I Lift My Cup (Spirit Divine Mix)
02 I Lift My Cup (Altered State Mix)
03 I Lift My Cup (State Of Grace Mix)
04 I Lift My Cup (Judgement Mix)
05 I Lift My Cup (Spirit Divine Edit)
06 I Lift My Cup (Altered State Edit)
07 I Lift My Cup (Righteous State Mix)
08 I Lift My Cup (Judgement Mix)

NOTE > Yes, the ‘Judgement Mix’ actually appears twice on the US CD single. And no, that isn’t the correct cover image.

Close To Your Heart


01 Close To Your Heart (Original Edit)
02 Close To Your Heart (JX Original Mix)
03 Close To Your Heart (The Immortals Remix)
04 Close To Your Heart (JX Dub)

INFO > Jake Williams’ fourth single, “Close To Your Heart”, leans heavily to the trance spectrum. Williams would later release a couple of other singles before assuming a new identity as Rex The Dog in 2004.

There’s Nothing I Won’t Do


01 There’s Nothing I Won’t Do (Original Edit)
02 There’s Nothing I Won’t Do (JX Original Mix)
03 There’s Nothing I Won’t Do (Red Jerry & JX Dub)
04 There’s Nothing I Won’t Do (Carl Cox Full House Remix)
05 There’s Nothing I Won’t Do (Way Out West Remix)

INFO > I can’t think of a more positive, uplifting, euphoric, energetic, full-on, hands-in-the-air anthem than JX’s “There’s Nothing I Won’t Do”—makes me wanna dance every time I hear it. Featuring vocalist Shèna, the tune was Jake Williams’ biggest hit, reaching 4 on the UK Singles Chart in 1996.

You Belong To Me


01 You Belong To Me (JX & Red Jerry Edit)
02 You Belong To Me (JX & Red Jerry Mix)
03 You Belong To Me (No Respect Remix)
04 You Belong To Me (Sil Remix)
05 You Belong To Me (Peter Parker Remix)
06 You Belong To Me (Sil Dub)

INFO > Jake Williams followed up his hit debut single “Son Of A Gun” with “You Belong To Me” in 1995. On the mix: Ramon Zenker & Jens Lissat and Olav Basoski.

Can’t Get A Man, Can’t Get A Job

Thanks to eLeMeNOhPeaQ for yet another choon.


01 Cantgetaman, Cantgetajob [Life’s A Bitch!] (Radio Mix)
02 Cantgetaman, Cantgetajob [Life’s A Bitch!] (Mix 1)
03 Cantgetaman, Cantgetajob [Life’s A Bitch!] (Hooj Mix)
04 Cantgetaman, Cantgetajob [Life’s A Bitch!] (Hard Mix)
05 Cantgetaman, Cantgetajob [Life’s A Bitch!] (Acappella)

INFO > Sister Bliss and Colette camp it up on this 1994 single, licensed to Go Beat from Hooj Choons.



01 Invisible (Original Vocal Edit) 04:11
02 Invisible (Lost Tribe Vocal Mix) 07:43
03 Rendezvous (Tilt’s Quadraphonic Mix) 08:03
04 Invisible (Original Vocal 12″) 08:04
05 I Dream (Tilt’s Resurrection Mix) 07:25
06 What’s This? (Tilt’s Tunnel Mix) 6:46
07 Invisible (Tilt’s Supernatural Dub) 09:00
08 Invisible (Tilt’s Supernatural Vocal Mix) 12:31

INFO > In 1999, the Tilt trio of Michael Parks, Michael Wilson, and John Graham recycled their trance instrumental “Rendezvous” (written and produced with Paul van Dyk) into “Invisible”, featuring former Grace vocalist Dominique Atkins. From a collector’s perspective, it’s one of Hooj Choons’ most confounding releases: multiple slabs of promo vinyl and acetates feature various versions; however, the commercial 12″ only includes the ‘Lost Tribe Vocal Mix’ and “What’s This?” The two UK CD singles compile several—but not all—of the mixes, and they’re edited to comply with UK chart requirements; also, “What’s This?” is excluded entirely. The above tracklisting replicates promo CDR HOOJ073LCD, with additional bonus track ‘Tilt’s Supernatural Vocal Mix.’

HELP > Anyone have the Australian CD with the full-length mixes?

JX – Son Of A Gun

“Son Of A Gun”
1995 Ffrreedom Records (UK)

01. Son Of A Gun (Hooj Radio Edit)
02. Son Of A Gun (JX & Red Jerry Flog The Horse Remix)
03. Son Of A Gun (Blu Peter vs Trigger Bitchin Remix)
04. Son Of A Gun (Candy Girls ‘Where’s The Crack’ Remix)
05. Son Of A Gun (Hooj 12″ Mix)

INFO > Red Jerry gave a young Jake Williams his big break back in 1994 when Hooj Choons released “Son Of A Gun” (HOOJ 23). FFRR reissued JX’s debut single the following year with energetic new mixes from Blu Peter and Paul Masterson.