Category Archives: FFRR

Platinum On Black (UK)

Various Artists
“Platinum On Black”
1993 FFRR Records (UK)
828 438-2

01 New Order – World (The Perfecto Edit)
02 Utah Saints – I Want You (DJ Tim’s Funky Bliss Mix 1)
03 Beat System – To A Brighter Day (Radio Edit)
04 Zero B – Lock Up (Diss-Cuss Remix)
05 Danny Campbell & Sasha – Together (United Club Mix)
06 Joe Roberts – Back In My Life (Classic 7″)
07 Soul Solution – Love, Peace & Happiness (Reel Club Mix)
08 X-Press 2 – London X-Press
09 House Of Virginism – I’ll Be There For You (Stone’s Radio 7″)
10 Lisa B – Fascinated (Featured Radio Edit)
11 Orbital – Lush 3-1 (Edit)
12 The Good Men – Give It Up (Radio Edit)
13 Cappella – U Got 2 Know (3 AM Ultimate Mix)
14 Sagat – Fuk Dat (Raw Mix)

This Is Your Life


“This Is Your Life”
1991 FFRR/London Records (UK)

01 This Is Your Life (Original Mix)
02 This Is Your Life (Less Stress Mix)
03 It’s Written All Over My Face

What Can You Do For Me (US Remixes)


Utah Saints
“What Can You Do For Me” (US Remixes)
1993 FFRR/London Records (US)
857 103-2

01 What Can You Do For Me (1926 Melodic Mix)
02 What Can You Do For Me (Drill Mix)
03 What Can You Do For Me (Hard Mix)
04 What Can You Do For Me (Klub Mix)
05 What Can You Do For Me (A Trance For The Saints)
06 I Want You (New Orleans Edit)

Sampler FFRR1


01 New Order – Here To Stay (Radio Edit)
02 Happy Mondays – Loose Fit (Edit)
03 Orbital – Illuminate (Short Version)
04 Orbital – Chime (Live Style Mix)
05 Weekend Players – 21st Century
06 Weekend Players – Jericho
07 BT – Loving You More (7″ Edit)
08 108 Grande – Te Quiero (Darren Emerson Remix)

French Kiss


01 French Kiss (7″ Vocal) 04:01
02 French Kiss (7″ Instrumental) 04:01
03 French Kiss (12″ Vocal Dance Mix) 09:48
04 French Kiss (12″ Instrumental) 09:51


01 French Kiss (Original Mix) 09:54
02 French Kiss (Innocent Until Proven Guilty Vocal Remix) 09:40
03 French Kiss (Passion Radio Mix) 04:20
04 French Kiss (Back Up Your Conversation Mix) 09:53
05 French Kiss (Hitting Virgin Territory Instrumental Mix) 03:54

INFO > In 1989, Chicago house producer Lil’ Louis (Marvin Louis Burns) cemented his place in dance music history with the international hit single “French Kiss.” Initially released independently on Louis’ Diamond Records, the track was licensed by Epic in the US and FFRR in the UK. Shawn Christopher provided the sexy vocalizations for the original release, while Pasquale features on the European remixes.

The House Sound Of Europe Vol. V


01 Izit – Stories (The Stories Mix)
02 E.V.O.E. – Esta Amour
03 Horn & Art – Action (The Cock)
04 Electra – Autumn Love (Future 3)
05 X-Tended – Split
06 Gino Latino – Welcome
07 Albert One – Vision
08 Blue Funk – Blackwater Gold
09 Traks – Long Train Runnin’
10 Chicco Secci – New York
11 Blue Tattoo – Love Can Do
12 All The Mix – On The Mix
13 Sima – You Got Me Running
14 Go-Nogo – Pacific State
15 Melvin Hudson – Right On Time
16 Paradise Orchestra – Satisfy Your Dream

Balearic Beats The Album Vol 1


01 Electra – Jibaro (English Version)
02 Code 61 – Drop The Deal (Long Version)
03 Beats Workin’ – Sure Beats Workin’ (El Sonido Casa Balearico)
04 Enzo Avitabile – Blackout (Mix Version)
05 Mandy Smith – I Just Can’t Wait (The Cool & Breezy Jazz Version)
06 The Residents – Kaw-Liga (Prairie Mix)
07 The Wooden Tops – Why Why Why (Live)
08 Nitzer Ebb – Join In The Chant (Burn!)
09 Fini Tribe – De Testimony (Collapsing Edit)
10 The Thrashing Doves – Jesus on the Payroll (Street Groove)

INFO > In 1988, years before “Café del Mar” and subsequent imitations, Paul Oakenfold, Pete Tong, and Trevor Fung assembled the seminal compilation “Balearic Beats The Album.” This eclectic blend of Ibiza’s club vibes was hugely influential in the UK, where clubs like Shoom and Spectrum channeled the sounds of The White Island.

Special Brew


01 U2 – Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix)
02 Bomb The Bass – One To One Religion (DJ Pogo Remix)
03 Bjork – Army Of Me (ABA All Star Mix)
04 Method Man – Release Yo’ Delf (Prodigy Remix)
05 The Prodigy – Voodoo People (Dust Brothers Remix)
06 Red Snapper – Hot Flush (Sabres Of Paradise Remix)
07 The Chemical Brothers – Chemical Beats
08 Goldie – A Sense Of Rage (Sensual V.I.P Mix)
09 Massive Attack – Protection (Underdog’s Angel Dust Mix)
10 The Future Sound Of London – The Ramblings Of A Mad Man
11 Paul Weller – Wild Wood (Paul Weller Vs. Portishead Mix)
12 Money Mark – Cry

Work It Out


01 Work It Out (Shiva Radio 7” Mix)
02 Work It Out (Morales Classic Radio Mix)
03 Work It Out (Mindwarp Mix)
04 Work It Out (F.O.S. Untouchable Vocal)
05 Work It Out (Morales Classic Club Mix)

INFO > 1995 debut single from the trio of Paul Ross, Gino Piscitelli, and the late Louise Dean. On the mix: David Morales, John Debo & Richard Dekkard, and Fathers Of Sound.

Mystery Land


01 Mystery Land (Radio Edit)
02 Trance Piano
03 Kiss The Sound
04 Mystery Land

INFO > The Belgian trio behind this EP may have been inspired by Jam & Spoon’s “Odyssey To Anyoona” while producing the title track. However, “Mystery Land” is certainly a unique classic in its own right, and was heavily played by Oakey back in the day.

While dining out last week, I heard a beatless, ambient version of “Mystery Land” playing over the restaurant’s sound system. I didn’t know that such a mix existed and I can’t track it down online—anyone know where to find that version?