Category Archives: Evolution

The Futures Overrated


“The Futures Overrated”
1997 Reprise Records (US)
9 43961-2

01 The Futures Overrated (Original 7″ Mix)
02 The Futures Overrated (Amethyst’s Mix)
03 The Futures Overrated (DJ Pulse Vocal Mix)
04 The Futures Overrated (Evolution’s Time Bomb Mix)
05 The Futures Overrated (Dub Pistols No Future Mix)
06 Direct Dubit (Arkarna’s Dub Mix)
07 The Futures Overrated (Original 12″ Mix)

Indie/electronic band Arkarna was formed in 1995 by Oliver Jacobs, James Barnett, and Lalo Creme (son of Lol Creme). Jacobs honed his production and songwriting skills at London-based Rollover Studios, founded by his father, Phillip Jacobs. “The Futures Overrated” was the second single taken from the group’s debut album, “Fresh Meat.” First released in 1997, the single was reissued the following year with new mixes.

Anomaly [Calling Your Name]


01 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (Granny’s 7″ Edit)
02 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (Original Mix)
03 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (Granny’s Epicure Remix)
04 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (Evolution’s Autodub Remix)
05 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (The Forth’s Remix)


01 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (Ferry Corsten Remix Edit)
02 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (Quivver Remix)
03 Anomaly [Calling Your Name] (Ferry Corsten 12″ Remix)

INFO > In 1995, Libra (Brian Transeau) and Taylor (Myles Glenn Wooten) collaborated on one-off single “Anomaly [Calling Your Name]”, issued through the Musicnow imprint. The track features vocals sampled from “The Prayer”, a B-side on Jan Johnston’s second single, “Paris.” The following year, Platipus licensed the track, gave it the remix treatment, and produced a hit, after which Jan Johnston went from unknown folk singer to in-demand dancefloor diva. Further remixes followed in 2000.

Voices / Heaven Scent


01 Heaven Scent (Radio Edit) 02:57
02 Voices (Radio Edit) 03:18
03 Heaven Scent (Original Mix) 10:27
04 Voices (Original Mix) 09:07
05 Heaven Scent (Evolution Main Mix) 09:30
06 Voices (Slacker’s Dumbstruck Mix)* 10:23
07 Heaven Scent (Evolution Dub)* 09:06

*Bonus tracks

INFO > This Australian release pairs John Digweed & Nick Muir’s epic “Heaven Scent” with moodier follow-up, “Voices.”



01 Cream (Radio Edit)
02 Cream (Long Version)
03 Cream (Evolution Mix)
04 Cream (Paul van Dyk Shortcut)
05 Cream (Paul van Dyk Mix)
06 Cream (ATB Mix)

INFO > Piet Blank and Jaspa Jones joined forces in 1997 and quickly established themselves within the electronic music community. The duo’s 1999 hit single “Cream” was made even more massive by Paul van Dyk. Barry Jamieson and Jon Sutton’s remix is exclusive to the UK release on Deviant Records.

Evolution – Phoenix

01 Phoenix (Original Mix)
02 Phoenix (Breeder Remix)
03 Phoenix (Radio Edit)

INFO > The professional partnership of Barry Jamieson and Jon Sutton dates back to the mid-1980s, when the duo branded themselves as Evolution and later set up the Positive Vinyl label to release their first singles. Evolution’s debut, 1990’s “Came Outa Nowhere”, provided fledgling producer Alexander Coe with his first remix opportunity; that experience initiated a longtime working friendship between Sasha and Jamieson. Evolution signed with Deconstruction in 1993, and found success with both mainstream and underground audiences. “Phoenix” was first widely heard in 1996 on Sasha and John Digweed’s first “Northern Exposure” compilation; however the tune wouldn’t see a full release until 1999, via Jamieson and Sutton’s Fluid Recordings.

Danny Campbell – Answer My Prayer

Danny Campbell
“Answer My Prayer”
1996 Jackpot Records (UK)
WIN 017 CD

01. Answer My Prayer (Mount Rushmore’s Radio Edit)
02. Answer My Prayer (Shiva’s 7″ Mix)
03. Answer My Prayer (Shiva’s 12″ Mix)
04. Answer My Prayer (Mount Rushmore’s Penitent Vocal Mix)
05. Answer My Prayer (Evolution’s DSG Mix)

INFO > Campbell’s soulful and powerful voice graced several quality house records in the 1990s, including his two singles for Jackpot.

Answer My Prayer

2wo Third3 – I Want The World


2wo Third3
“I Want The World”
1994 Epic Records (UK)
660854 2 / 660854 5

01. I Want The World (Our World Mix) 03:51
02. I Want The World (Space Cadets Mix) 03:43
03. I Want The World (Planet Uranus Mix) 06:32
04. I Want The World (Planet Mercury Mix) 05:54
05. I Want The World (Planet Mars Mix) 07:16
06. I Want The World (Planet Pluto Mix) 06:25
07. I Want The World (Planet Earth Mix) 09:19

1, 2 > Remix by Phil Harding & Ian Curnow
3 > Remix by Primax and The Power Syndicate
4 > Remix by Development Corporation
5, 6 > Remix by Evolution
7 > Remix by LuvDup

INFO > 2wo Third3 entered the UK Singles Chart top 20 with “I Want The World”, earning them an appearance on “Top Of The Pops” in 1995. Tracks from both CD singles are consolidated here.