Category Archives: Devo

Post Post-Modern Man


“Post Post-Modern Man”
1990 Enigma Records (US)
7 75551-2

01 Post Post-Modern Man (Post Post Post-Modern Edit)
02 Post Post-Modern Man (Pre Post Post-Modern Instrumental)
03 Post Post-Modern Man (Album Version)
04 Post Post-Modern Man (Macro Post-Modern Mix)
05 Post Post-Modern Man (Sub Post-Modern Mix)
06 Post Post-Modern Man (Neo Post-Modern Mix)
07 Post Post-Modern Man (Ultra Post-Modern Dub)

“Post Post-Modern Man” was the lone single issued from the Devo’s 1990 album “Smooth Noodle Maps”; Justin Strauss’ remixes give the the track a more electronic sound.

Disco Dancer


“Disco Dancer”
1988 Enigma Records (US)

01 Disco Dancer (7-Inch Version)
02 Disco Dancer (12-Inch Version)
03 Disco Dancer (Bonus Beats)
04 Disco Dancer (Karaoke Version)

DE-EVOLUTION: the idea that instead of continuing to evolve, mankind has actually begun to regress, as evidenced by the dysfunction and herd mentality of American society.

The above theory was postulated by Gerald Casale and Bob Lewis while they were attending Kent State University in the late-1960s. While conceived as a joke, the concept of ‘de-evolution’ can now be considered an axiom, supported by societal behavior displayed over the past 40+ years.

The first incarnation of Devo was formed in 1973, and debuted that year at the Kent State Creative Arts Festival. Following a few band member changes, a longtime lineup was achieved: Gerald Casale, Bob Casale, Mark Mothersbaugh, and Bob Mothersbaugh (along with various drummers).

The visionary Spudboys from Ohio realized the power of video early on; their short film “The Truth About De-Evolution” caught the attention of David Bowie, who helped Devo in securing a recording contract with Warner Bros. in 1978. The group enjoyed its greatest success in the early-1980s, but things went downhill as the decade progressed.

After being dumped by WB, Devo regrouped and signed with Enigma Records for two LPs, which proved to be critical and commercial failures. Remixed by Ivan Ivan, “Disco Dancer” was the first of two singles issued from the album “Total Devo.”