Category Archives: Billie Ray Martin

Space Oasis


01 Space Oasis
02 Space Oasis (JNR’s South Beach Mix)
03 Space Oasis (BT’s Enterprise Mix)
04 Space Oasis (JNR’s Ambient Vocal Mix)
05 Space Oasis (JNR’s UK Mix)

INFO > Billie Ray Martin’s 1995 debut LP, “Deadline For My Memories”, was produced by Brian Transeau, who in addition remixed two of the album’s singles: “Running Around Town” and “Space Oasis.” Junior Vasquez also reworked “Space Oasis” for its 1996 single release.

Running Around Town


01 Running Around Town (7″ Mix)
02 Running Around Town (BT’s Jacobs Ladder Mix)
03 Running Around Town (Extended Mix)
04 Running Around Town (BT’s Shelter Mix)
05 Running Around Town (Junior’s Mix)
06 Your Loving Arms (Brothers In Rhythm Edited Club Mix)


01 Running Around Town (Moran Pop Mix)
02 Running Around Town (Spike Radio Edit)
03 Running Around Town (Spike Club Mix)

INFO > The origins of Billie Ray Martin’s “Running Around Town” can be traced to “Moving Downtown”, a song Martin wrote in the mid-1980s while fronting Motown-inspired band Billie And The Deep. As a guest vocalist for S’Express, Martin recycled lyrics from “Moving Downtown” into “Pimps, Pushers, Prostitutes”, featured on 1989 album “Original Soundtrack.” In 1995, Brian Transeau produced and remixed Martin’s fully-developed “Running Around Town”, the second of five singles released from her solo debut album, “Deadline For My Memories.” The Tony Moran and Darrin Friedman remixes on the 1996 US promo are digitally exclusive to that CD.

Your Loving Arms


01 Your Loving Arms (Original Radio Edit)
02 Your Loving Arms (Diss-Cuss Vocal Mix)
03 Your Loving Arms (Original Extended Mix)
04 Your Loving Arms (Sound Factory Vocal Edit)
05 Your Loving Arms (Diss-Cuss Bitchin’ Dub)
06 Your Loving Arms (Eruption Vocal)


01 Your Loving Arms (Original Extended Mix)
02 Your Loving Arms (Sound Factory Vocal)
03 Your Loving Arms (Hands In The Air Mix)
04 Your Loving Arms (S Man’s Anthem Mix)
05 Your Loving Arms (Padapella)

INFO > Following a stint in Electribe 101, a single with Spooky, and other collaborative work, Billie Ray Martin enlisted Dave Ball and Richard Norris to oversee her debut solo release, 1993’s “4 Ambient Tales.” The Grid also produced Billie Ray’s next single—international smash hit “Your Loving Arms.” Amid numerous remixes from Diss-Cuss, Brothers In Rhythm, Roger Sanchez, and Todd Terry, it was Junior Vasquez’s ‘Sound Factory Vocal’ that catapulted the tune up the charts, and filled dancefloors worldwide. Here are the original 1994 UK release and the belated US issue from 1995.

UK promo video:

US promo video:



01 Persuasion (Seven Inch Mix)
02 Persuasion (D.O.P. Mix)
03 Persuasion (Chameleon Dub)
04 Persuasion (Chameleon Mix)
05 Persuasion (Original Version)
06 Persuasion (SpookyBillie’s Ventriloquist Mix)

INFO > Throbbing Gristle cover “Persuasion” was intended for inclusion on Electribe 101’s second album, which went unreleased. In 1993, Billie Ray Martin re-recorded the song with Charlie May and Duncan Forbes; the single was released via Guerilla with remixes by Kevin Hurry & Kevin Swain.

Talking With Myself ’98


01 Talking With Myself ’98 (Canny Radio Edit)
02 Talking With Myself ’98 (Frankie Knuckles Mix)
03 Talking With Myself ’98 (Canny Remix)
04 Talking With Myself ’98 (Beloved Radio Edit)
05 Talking With Myself ’98 (Blue Horizon)
06 Talking With Myself ’98 (Canny Dub)

INFO > In forging a music career, German vocalist Billie Ray Martin (Birgit Dieckmann) sought to combine “the intellectual and the emotional” into her artistic output. To that end, Martin joined up with four lads from Birmingham to form Electribe 101. The first fruits of the group’s labor was “Talking With Myself”, which faired poorly as a single upon its initial release in 1988, but achieved greater success when re-released two years later. In 1998, the tune was revisited by Manifesto, which commissioned new remixes from Canny and The Beloved.