Future Retro

Various Artists
“Future Retro”
2006 Rhino Records (US)
R2 73198

01 The Cure – The Walk (Infusion Mix)
02 Yazoo – Situation (Richard X Remix)
03 Echo & The Bunnymen – Lips Like Sugar (Way Out West Edit)
04 INXS – Need You Tonight (Static Revenger Mix Edit)
05 Depeche Mode – Shake The Disease (Tiga Remix)
06 Erasure – A Little Respect (Jaded Alliance ‘Electrospect’ Remix)
07 Howard Jones – New Song (Peter Black & Hardrock Striker Edit)
08 Alphaville – Forever Young (Hamel Album Mix)
09 New Order – Bizarre Love Triangle (Crystal Method Extended Mix)
10 Grandmaster & Melle Mel – White Lines (Elite Force Mix)
11 Devo – Girl U Want (Black Light Odyssey Mix)
12 B-Movie – Nowhere Girl (Adam Freeland Mix)
13 Book Of Love – Boy (DJ Irene Rockstar Mix)
14 Morrissey – Suedehead (Sparks Remix)

Concept compilation “Future Retro” puts a contemporary (circa 2006) spin on classic tracks from the eighties. The studio fiddling yields a mixed bag of results, and proves that modernity isn’t best achieved with big beats, warped electronics, and distorted vocals.

Posted on April 29, 2017, in VARIOUS ARTISTS. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thank you dj shelf future collection.I lost with my broke hard all collection.But i found one rip ripped in 2010 on my one old disc.Ilove BBG mixes and try collected.That cd i found

    Dave Stewart And The Spiritual Cowboys ‎– Jack Talking
    RCA ‎– PD 43908
    CD, Maxi-Single

    1 Jack Talking 4:20
    2 Suicidal Sid

    Engineer, Producer [Associate] – Bruce LampcovProducer – Chris Thomas

    3 Love Calculator 5:51
    4 Jack Talking (12″ Version)

    Remix – BBG


  2. I already have this one but I highly recommend it to everyone … a lot of these “club remixes of 80s choons” suck, but not this one … I love (almost) every version on here, each is great in their own unique way!

    great upload

  3. Definitely a mixed bag, but is an interesting concept. There is also a vinyl version of this with a slightly different track listing, same artists, but some different songs/remixes by different remixers, and full length versions that were edited for the CD.

  4. Oh cheers for sharing this, I had the CD and have not been able to track it down, Suedehead mix is great!

  5. Man, you’ve been bringing us all the music we missed on our record collection and for that I thank you for all these years.
    Having said that, now, do you Momus – Hairstyle of the devil (single)

What's On Your Mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: