The Dance Chart

tcd2285

Various Artists
“The Dance Chart”
1987 Telstar (UK)
TCD 2285

01 Jackie Wilson – Reet Petite
02 Mel & Kim – Respectable
03 Raze – Jack The Groove
04 DJ Jazzy Jeff & Fresh Prince – Girls Ain’t Nothing But Trouble
05 Grace Jones – Private Life
06 Timex Social Club – Rumors
07 Taffy – I Love My Radio
08 Man 2 Man Meets Man Parrish – Male Stripper
09 Freeez – I.O.U.
10 Five Star – Can’t Wait Another Minute
11 Princess – Say I’m Your Number One
12 Mel & Kim – Showing Out
13 Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam – I Wonder If I Take You Home
14 The Concept – Mr D.J.
15 Whistle – Just Buggin’
16 Wham! – Wham Rap!

“The Dance Chart” compiles tracks released between 1985 and 1987. The seeming anomaly is Jackie Wilson’s 1957 single “Reet Petite”; however, that song topped the UK Singles Chart for four weeks when reissued in 1986. The collection features many rare radio edits, and notably includes Paul Oakenfold’s very first remix: “Girls Ain’t Nothing But Trouble” (produced with Herbie Laidley). Unfortunately, Telstar used the original single mix of Grace Jones’ “Private Life” instead of the Paul Smykle remix released in 1986.

Posted on February 5, 2017, in VARIOUS ARTISTS. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Very cool!!! I love every track on here (especially Mel & Kim and Timex) and I remember the video of REET PETITE (claymation) … great stuff and a nice change to the basic 80s compilations.

    Hope to see more 1986-1988 comps

    ;-D

  2. Nice one, thanks. Love how comps like these make me think of comps I haven’t heard in years. Now I’m going to go crazy trying to find a copy of the Sassy Sire Sampler.

What's On Your Mind?

