Behind The Wheel (US Promo)

PROCD2953

Depeche Mode
“Behind The Wheel” (US Promo)
1988 Sire Records (US)
PRO-CD-2953

01 Behind The Wheel (7″ Remix)
02 Behind The Wheel / Route 66 (Mega-Single Mix)
03 Route 66 / Behind The Wheel (Mega-Single Mix)
04 Behind The Wheel / Route 66 (Megamix)
05 Behind The Wheel (Beatmasters Mix)
06 Behind The Wheel (Extended Remix)

While the boys from Basildon have popped up on several compilations featured here, Depeche Mode has never been the focus of a post until now. “Behind The Wheel” is one of my favorite DM singles, and while the album version is the definitive mix, the remixes are excellent. Shep Pettibone and The Beatmasters pep up the beats to make the track more dancefloor-friendly, while Ivan Baker creates a megamix with B-side “Route 66.”

Posted on May 22, 2016, in Beatmasters, Depeche Mode, Ivan Ivan, Shep Pettibone. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Marvellous!

  2. Maravilhoso! Uma das melhores bandas de synthpop ever!

  3. Fried Pickle

    I got my kicks on 66….thanks for the memories Shelf !

  4. Depeche Mode are still the best!!! Gotta love their old stuff! Never gets old! I wish they would return to their original sound!

    On an unrelated note, I feel that you may know the answer to this:

    a) I am looking for the original song that had the sample “HIGHER” in it. I know this is very vague, but basically, there were a lot of house/techno songs in the 90s that featured this sample, and it’s just a high pitched version of someone singing “higher, higher” … lol
    b) Petshop Boys featured that sample in one of their mid-90s remixes, but I can’t remember which one.

    • codenamesharp

      Hi JW, I might be waaaay off here, but it’s not Co-Imperial by Wood Allen is it? The sample kicks in here – https://youtu.be/hrVFCXLSge0?t=2m22s

      I was a full time club DJ in Australia ’96-06 so I might know it if you can give me a bit more detail, even the vaguest reference might trigger my memory, you never know!

      Now, where did I put my keys…

      • killer track but that’s not it. I know my inquiry is way too vague but there is no better way to describe it … lol

        I was a DJ in the 90s too, until 2002, and I remember the sample distinctly on many of my records, especially on a Petshop Boys remix, but since I no longer have my record collection ….

        The sample is a repetition of two artificially high-pitched “higher” samples … no big deal, just one of those things that drives me crazy … lol

    • I first heard the “HIGHER” sample in “Hallelujah” by Happy Mondays… And this is just a guess- , but if you really listen to it, it sounds like they edited the “Hall-” and the “-jah” syllables together to make her say “HIGHER” – check it out at 1:13 (https://youtu.be/Fk4uY1OvYR4?t=1m13s) & I think you’ll hear the similarities where they might have edited it together… The original “Sing Hallelujah” is sampled from the accapella of “In The Morning Time” by Tramaine…

  5. Hello,
    this is my remix of:
    Depeche Mode – behind the wheel (retro house mix)
    Good listening.
    link: https://youtu.be/2fvFAS0MGyo

What's On Your Mind?

