Thank You Again

I was overwhelmed by the outpouring of kind comments and sincere support in the wake of my departure from this blog. Through this site, I have met many wonderful people all over the world, and I’m very happy that we have become friends. Also, it is truly gratifying that my efforts have been appreciated—I hope that my posts were not only entertaining, but also occasionally enlightening.

I found it curious that a couple of visitors subscribed to the blog after the last post, perhaps thinking that the denouement was merely a ruse (more likely, they were on a different page). However, it got me thinking about ‘unfinished business’—material that I had slated to feature here, but which will remain on the shelf, as it were. Now, I’m not making any promises, but there’s a possibility that a couple of ‘holiday specials’ may appear in the near future. So maybe those folks were wise to subscribe, after all.

Despite a thoughtful request, I’ll not be compiling any more lists of favorites, although I did have a few in mind (electronic albums, disc jockeys, record labels, and influential recordings).

A couple of people commented about the ‘Share’ page, inquiring as to whether or not it would remain active. Feel free to continue corresponding with each other there, although I won’t be moderating activity.

You may find me lurking around other blogs. However, as previously mentioned, I plan to spend more time in the ‘real’ world.

Thanks again.

Shelf

Posted on September 15, 2015, in SHELF. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Perhaps the membership of the board could take up a concerted effort to restore the dead links on the blog with your assistance?

    • With four years of inactive links, that would be a most ambitious undertaking. For various reasons, I am disinclined to grant login credentials to anyone. At one point, I considered purchasing a personal cloud drive to host files (including all the older ones); however, it’s always been my policy to never spend money on maintaining the blog. Sorry, Jay – I’m retired now.

  2. Awesome work!!!! Appreciate all your effort over the years. Enjoy retirement and hope that we see some one offs from you now and then. Cheers

  3. I’m 1 of the new additions… A friend had mentioned your blog to me ages ago but i forgot all about it… He said again recently that you were closing the blog, but still hosting until the end of the month… I really wish i had made it here earlier… I was able to download some mixes that interested me, some good rare stuff too… It’s just a pity that i am a few years too late… Same old story… Good luck for the future

  4. Really sorry to see you go, but understand its not forever, you have been a real contributer and plugged so many gaps for so many people, enjoy that beer with pride

  5. found many gems over the years…many thanks for your hard work mate…great appreciated.

    Dan

    • Dj shelf i not at first days follow this blog many uploads i dont have but my friends give me almost all your uploads here.If u dont be angry i try to up some again on share.
      Enjoy in real life

  6. I have loved this site, and have tuned in each week. OK, I lied I tuned in atleast three times a week. LOL
    Thanks for all you do SHelf !

  7. I didn’t get a chance to comment. Was aware of last post. Thanks for all the great posts over the years. I understand your need and wish you the best of luck, but I will miss this blog, I must say.

  8. Thanks DJ Shelf…you brightened the world…best of luck with your new pursuits

  9. i can be all about some “holiday” specials…:)

    thanks for sharing Shelf…do appreciate your effort and time…

What's On Your Mind?

