Electric Guitar

YRCD104

01 Electric Guitar (Humbucker)
02 Electric Guitar (Vibrochamp)
03 Electric Guitar (Headstock)
04 Electric Guitar (Sunburst)
05 Electric Guitar (Hot Tube)

INFO > My introduction to Fluke came in 1991 when I acquired a copy of “Out (In Essence)” for the princely sum of one dollar. Unfortunately, the trio’s sound didn’t appeal to me at the time—I just didn’t get it. Sadly, I sold that CD. Fast forward to 1993, and I was immediately intrigued upon hearing “Electric Guitar” played on Swedish Egil’s syndicated program, “Groove Radio.” Now that I could get into. From 1993 to 1994, Fluke could do no wrong: their “Six Wheels On My Wagon” album, the related singles, and remixes for other artists are all consistently excellent. Things went a bit wonky after that, but for those two years, Fluke was the electronic band to beat.

Posted on August 28, 2015, in Fluke. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Tom in Portsmouth, NH

    Shelf, I just wanted you to know how much I appreciate the work you put into this site—all the music and your personal commentary.

    I try to DL as soon as you post, because I’ve learned that it isn’t available forever. Missed a lot of cool sounds due to my procrastinating. :(

    Inevitably, though, it often takes me several weeks (or more!) to actually listen to some of this stuff. By then, commenting “What a great song!” or “Thanks a lot, Shelf” seems way overdue.

    So, while I’m thinking about it, here’s to you, Shelf…

    THANK YOU!

    • Thanks Tom – I really appreciate your kind comments and praise :-)

      Yeah, sorry, but if I spent time re-uploading old files, I’d never have time for new posts,

      And I’m the same way – I download so much stuff from other blogs that I rarely get a chance to listen to any of it!

      Thanks again.

  2. What Tom said…
    Not sure I agree, though, with your ‘wonky’ comment about Fluke. I’ve always rated them as being pretty avante garde. Some (not all, mind) of the tracks on Oto are just pure class. I do agree, though, from a dance music perspective, 93/94 was when they were at their apogee. The “Slid” remixes, which I got here after years of searching (thanks), are still my all time favourite Fluke tracks. I DJ regularly, and they’re just as easy to drop into a set today as they were back then

    • I’m all for artists evolving and experimenting; however, I loved Fluke’s progressive house sound so much that it was difficult to adjust when they ventured into downtempo and big beat. I agree that “Oto” is classy, while “Risotto” is somewhat disappointing. Fluke may have been trying too hard to keep pace with The Chemical Brothers, The Prodigy, and Underworld in the mid-90s.

What's On Your Mind?

