Retro:Active 2

HIB10162

01 The Human League – Human (Extended Version)
02 a-ha – The Sun Always Shines On T.V. (Extended Version)
03 Tears For Fears – Shout (Dub)
04 Blancmange – Don’t Tell Me (Dance Remix)
05 Howard Jones – Look Mama (Megamamamix)
06 Figures On A Beach – No Stars (Unreleased Remix)
07 O.M.D. – So In Love (New Extended Mix)
08 Fuzzbox – International Rescue (The Orgasmatron Mix)
09 Q. Lazzarus – Goodbye Horses (Extended Version)
10 The Dream Academy – Love Parade (12″ Mix)
11 Alphaville – Jet Set (Jellybean Mix)
12 Yazoo – State Farm (Madhouse Mix)

Posted on May 2, 2015, in VARIOUS ARTISTS. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. eLeMeNOhPeaQ

    A few months ago, while watching The Silence of the Lambs on TV, the Q Lazzarus song played during ‘that one scene’. I jumped on the computer to search the song, and found the extended mix on You Tube. When the video began to play, it showed the artwork for this compilation, and I knew I had it in my collection. I was glad, because the quality of the song in the video sounded dull and muddy. I checked my spinner rack, and there it was! I was disappointed in the quality of the track, as it sounded as it did in the video. I thought it would sound more crisp, as it shows “All tracks digitally remastered” on the back insert.

    Anyway, I kept searching the song title, and came across some awesome covers. One by Tone Of Arc, where there’s a real music video for it on You Tube, in which ‘that one scene’ is recreated (totally worth checking out). I then learned an obscure band I like, Psyche, also covered the song (check out their 21st Century Immortality Mix).

    • I’ve never been a fan of “Goodbye Horses”, although clearly, Jonathan Demme is – having used the song in both “Silence Of The Lambs” and “Married To The Mob.”

      I’m also a longtime fan of Psyche – their cover of “Goodbye Horses” is quite faithful to the original. Now listening to the remix you mentioned – I prefer that to the original.

      Sadly, the entire “Retro:Active” series is poorly ‘remastered’ – all of the tracks are over-compressed and lack dynamic range. Although a good number of the mixes are available elsewhere in better quality, many versions are exclusive to these collections.

  2. Thank you! :-)

What's On Your Mind?

