Higher State Of Consciousness

ZYX76258

01 Higher State Of Consciousness (Radio Edit)
02 Higher State Of Consciousness (DJ Wink’s Hardhouse Mix)
03 Higher State Of Consciousness (Tweekin’ Acid Funk)
04 Higher State Of Consciousness (The 611 Acid Groove Mix)
05 Higher State Of Consciousness (Album Version)

FESCD3

01 Higher State Of Consciousness (Jules & Skins Radio Edit)
02 Higher State Of Consciousness (Tweekin’ Acid Funk Edit)
03 Higher State Of Consciousness (DJ Wink’s Hardhouse Mix)
04 Higher State Of Consciousness (Jules & Skins Short Vox Mix)
05 Higher State Of Consciousness (Jules & Skins Long & Epic Mix)

FESCD9

01 Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesey Radio Edit)
02 Higher State Of Consciousness (Tweekin’ Acid Funk)
03 Higher State Of Consciousness (Dex & Jonesey Mix)
04 Higher State Of Consciousness (Mr. Spring’s Maggott Mix)
05 Higher State Of Consciousness (Itty Bitty Boozy Woozy Mix)
06 Higher State Of Consciousness (Jules & Skins Long & Epic Mix)

INFO > Although Philadelphia native Joshua Winkelman is among the international DJ elite, he’s one of the most down-to-Earth guys that you’re likely to meet. Josh Wink took to the wheels of steel in the mid-1980s; throughout the following decade, he built a reputation as a respected DJ and producer, and founded Ovum Recordings with fellow Philly dance don King Britt. After releasing a handful of moderately successful singles between 1993 and 1995, Wink blew up big time with “Higher State Of Consciousness.” While most recognizable in its acid breaks interpretation, “Higher State” was initially conceived as a chill out tune for 1994 compilation “The Deep And Slow.” The German ZYX CD single includes that original version, along with the three mixes from the Strictly Rhythm 12″, and an edit of ‘DJ Wink’s Hardhouse Mix.’ Manifesto licensed “Higher State” for the UK, and commissioned remixes from Julius O’Riordan & Michael Skins. The track was reworked in 1996 by newcomers Andrew McEniry and Kevin Tewis (Dex & Jonesey), whose ‘Higher Stated Mix’ propelled the single into the top 10 of the UK Singles Chart.

Posted on January 4, 2015, in Josh Wink, Jules & Skins. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I’m from Philly. I visited his store: 611 Records. I bought some vinyl there too! Thanks for the share.

    • Hey Darren! Yeah, I meant to mention that ‘The 611 Acid Groove Mix’ references Nigel Richards’ old store (and record label) formerly at 611 South 4th Street. Wink was there quite a lot – he even rang up one of my purchases. Even though the store is closed, the 611 brand is still active:

      http://www.611lifestyle.com/

  2. How odd, as I just purchased a Josh Wink compilation last week. Of course, I love the Tweakin’ Acid Funk mix, and am not sure if I’m familiar with the rest. Will definitely be giving these a download…thanks, Shelf!

    • Like cheesesteaks and the Liberty Bell, Josh Wink is synonymous with Philly. I’ve had the pleasure to experience several of his sets at various venues back in the day – Josh is a hard-working and professional entertainer. Funnily enough, when I first heard “Higher State”, I thought it was ridiculous – took some time before I came to appreciate it. I really like the Dex & Jonesey remix – calms down the acid factor without completely losing it.

      • I loved the acid! Maybe you can kind of understand why I like Vission/Lorimer so much? Wink and V/L were often played at my favorite club, and would always pack the dance floor. I understand it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but after drinking all night…it sure seemed like every one was on the dance floor.

        After playing through these mixes, I am familiar with them all. For me, it was tough to beat the mix that was always played at my club.

        • A bit o’ booze always made everything more awesome (or more tolerable!). Yeah, I can see Wink’s stuff mixing well with Vission & Lorimer’s mixes. Music had a lot more character back in the day.

  3. AWESOME!!! You are the best! Like I said before, I bought this vinyl at least 6-7 times because I played it so much!

    I also had some great white labels with this song mashed with Prince, POublic Enemy, etc.

    Such a great track. All his stuff was great! I only saw him live once!

    Thank you a million times!!!

  4. This is great dj shelf i have al of that but ripped from vinyls
    some from cds
    Thank you for this great recapitulation of this big hit in 90s this is classic .People grab this later nowhere to find believe me.
    This is reason what is MOD best blog.
    Best quality im shoore

  5. Thanks again. Absolute quality.

  6. I forgot about the 611 Acid Groove mix! Thx MOD!!!

What's On Your Mind?

