When Do I Get To Sing “My Way”

LOC151

PART 1: RADIO EDITS (1994)
01 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Sparks Radio Edit)
02 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (The Grid Radio Edit)
03 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (The Grid Instrumental)
04 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Rapino Brothers 7″ Mix)
05 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Pro-Gress Mix)
06 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Vince Clarke Remix Edit)
07 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Rapino Brothers 7″ – Cold End)*
08 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Vince Clarke Edit – Cold End)*

LOC151

PART 2: REMIXES (1994)
01 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (The Grid’s Frank & Kitty Mix)
02 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (The Grid’s Frank & Nancy Mix)
03 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (The Grid’s Ron & Nancy Mix)
04 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Rapino Brothers Sola Mix)
05 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Pro-Gress Mix V.10.3)
06 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Vince Clarke Remix)
07 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Men Behind Club Mix)
08 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Microbots Club Mix)
09 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Plutone Club Mix)

LGDJ590121

PART 3: US PROMO (1995)
01 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Color Blind Club)
02 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Tone Deaf Dub)
03 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Mereus Vocal)
04 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Sticks & Stones Remix)
05 When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way’ (Total Fog Dub 1)

INFO > Brothers Ron Mael and Russell Mael formed the band Halfnelson in 1968; Todd Rundgren produced the group’s debut LP. Shortly after the album’s 1971 release, the brothers Mael rechristened themselves as Sparks and began a long and illustrious career: experimenting in various musical styles, dabbling in other media, and creating an international cult following in the process.

Sparks’ 1994 album, the cleverly titled “Gratuitous Sax And Senseless Violins”, includes the single “When Do I Get To Sing ‘My Way'”, which was released 20 years ago this month. All of the various versions from UK, German, and US CD singles are compiled in Parts 1 and 2 of this post, while Part 3 presents additional remixes commissioned the following year.

*As he and I both prefer a proper ending as opposed to a lazy fade out, Andrei has created custom edits of the Rapino Brothers and Vince Clarke radio mixes. Please enjoy his fine efforts.

The promo video is a wonderful homage to classic film trailers:

Posted on October 14, 2014, in Grid, Rapino Brothers, Sparks. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

    • Hi, I thought I had all mixes of this song but I just found out I missed out on the Mereus Vocal one. The files you put online are no longer there. Could you contact me at my email address? I might have some Sparks mixes that you’d be interested in.

      Thanks a lot,
      Ruud – Holland

  1. jesus i always knew they threw a shed-load of money at this in terms of remixes and then BMG throw even more ! I’ve got the 2 uk cds of this and the only one that has done it for me is the Grid’s radio edit. The instrumental isn’t listed as such but imho is infinitely better than any of the others mixes, even the vocal version of the same edit. I was always disappointed that the other Grid mixes weren’t longer versions of this edit

    • Remixing was most definitely out of hand in the 1990s, and this release is a fine example of the excess associated with that period. With most singles, there was usually one really good rework, some lesser efforts, and often mixes produced in genre-specific styles as an attempt to please everyone. I must have dozens of singles with remixes that I’ve never even heard.

      I agree that this isn’t one of The Grid’s better productions – an extended version of the radio mix would have been appreciated. Not to mention an extended version of Sparks’ original track!

  2. My favorite club (ESO2) played the Rapino Brothers Extended Sola Mix often when this was out. I was just making the jump to import CDs, but never saw a listing for the CD Single (as I was working for Musicland and Sam Goody), so I had settled on the domestic CD Single with the Rapino Brothers 7″ Mix. When I finally landed a copy with the full mix, I was ecstatic. I refused to sell that particular import years ago…but, I did sell the domestic.

    I think it’s time I give the other mixes a shot, as I’m interested in the mixes from ’95 and Andrei’s edits. Thanks, guys!

    • I loved the song after seeing the video on MTV, but was disappointed with the versions on the US CD single (aside from the original).

      Yes, please cut up some of the other tracks, LMNO. Your digital skills are also always appreciated.

  3. Thank you so much for this great work DJ Shelf only Rapino Brothers dub not here (Germany 2 x12 vinyl issue) i have this cd rip from 1995
    http://www.discogs.com/Sparks-When-Do-I-Get-To-Sing-My-Way/release/514887
    please go to share

  4. Thanks, this is epic. :)

What's On Your Mind?

