Field Work + Steppin’ Into Asia + The Arrangement

MDCZ1224

01 Field Work (Long London Mix)
02 Field Work (Long Tokyo Mix)
03 Exhibition
04 Steppin’ Into Asia
05 Steppin’ Into Asia (Urban Mix)
06 The Left Bank
07 The Arrangement
08 Just About Enough
09 Once In A Lifetime
10 Field Work (London Mix)
11 Field Work (Tokyo Mix)

INFO > This 1993 collection assembles three early Ryuichi Sakamoto singles: “The Arrangement” (1982), a collaboration with Robin Scott; “Field Work” (1985) featuring Thomas Dolby; and “Steppin’ Into Asia” (1985) with Akiko Yano. The latter two were included on “Illustrated Musical Encyclopedia”, the belated international version of Sakamoto’s 1984 album “音楽図鑑” (Ongaku Zukan).

Posted on February 22, 2014, in Ryuichi Sakamoto. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Ilove so much Rhyuichis works (remember the movie with David Bowie) i cant wait to prelisten this thank you DJ Shelf (ps go to share i found one fantastic single believe me i self dont know i have it i forgot that very hard to find)

    • Yes, I’m a big fan of “Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence” – excellent film. Sakamoto is a brilliant artist in so many respects. And thanks for all of your posts on the Share page, Nedzad!

  2. I’m just reading the excellent new David Sylvian biography – it’s like you’re reading my mind Shelf!

    • I read the Martin Power book years ago – couldn’t justify the price of the recently published bio. Like Chris Young, I used to worship Sylvian; however, I’ve found his output over the past dozen years to be unlistenable and pretentious. I’m all for experimentation and reinvention, but not complete abandonment of past style and musical approach. At this point, he’s too far gone and will never return to anything resembling conventional music. Even his magnificent voice has deteriorated over time. Still, Sylvian’s overall body of work is true art and I’ll always respect the man for that.

  3. Thanks for this post Shelf ! I really enjoyed this album. The song “Exhibition” I got a little lost on, but everything else on here was classic !

    • )))) Exhibition was meant for it. this is ambient)

    • Thanks Pickle :-) I loved “Field Work” from the first time I heard it, back in 1987. Dolby is a vastly underrated talent. I had never heard the material with Robin Scott until recently and was pleasantly surprised. And to echo Andrei, “Exhibition” is mesmerizing minimalist noodling – not for everyone, but a fine example of Sakamoto’s musical diversity.

  4. DJ SHELF THAK YOU FOR YOUR HELP I LOST RIGOR MORTIS WITH MY HARD DISC NOW I REMEMBER I SEND EVERYTHING WHEN I PROMISE.I DOWMNLOADED AGAIN ADRIVE IS A LAW NOT MEDIAFIRE

What's On Your Mind?

