Underneath The Radar (US Promo)

PROCD2942

01 Underneath The Radar (7″ Remix)
02 Underneath The Radar (12″ Remix)
03 Underneath The Radar (LP Version)

INFO > The evolution of Underworld began in 1979 with the pop punk of The Screen Gemz, then continued in the mid-1980s as the obscure synthpop of Freur. But prior to the experimental techno of Lemon Interupt and the massive success of “Born Slippy” in the 1990s, there was another stop in the musical journey of Karl Hyde and Rick Smith. The first incarnation of Underworld was a conventional and unremarkable synth-rock band, and included former members of both The Screen Gemz and Freur. Their 1988 debut single “Underneath The Radar” is also the title track of Underworld’s first album; Shep Pettibone remixed the tune.

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Shep Pettibone, Underworld. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. ok dude, yer freakin’ me out..I was getting ready to post this same promo today. You beat me to it. Nice post!

  2. Oh, my…does this song bring back memories. It was never played on Milwaukee radio. But, lucky for me, I lived far enough West of Milwaukee, that I was able to get Madison radio stations. One station played this song quite a bit, and it was love at first listen. Now, keep in mind, I was a Top 40/Pop kid, so Underworld was new to me and this song was so trance inducing. I know I have this on backup, but I may just let my laziness take over and give this a d/l so I have it at the ready. Thanks much!

  3. A wonderful and underrated Song that brings back some memories from my youth…thank you very much :)…I love this song so much!!!!

  4. Love this song !
    with it’s 80’s feel and its “midnight star, no parking on the dancefloor” intro

  5. There’s an different US Vinyl featuring these songs in “Instrumental Version” and “Dub” (along with Big Red X), any chance of upping this in the near future?

  1. Pingback: Underworld – Stand Up [US, Vinyl, 12'', Single] [1989] | Off The Beat(en) Trax

What's On Your Mind?

