Monthly Archives: June 2013

My Hand Over My Heart


01 My Hand Over My Heart (Single Mix)
02 My Hand Over My Heart (Grit And Glitter Mix)
03 Money For Love (Fiddle Mix)
04 Night And No Morning
05 Money For Love (Ennio Mix)
06 Deadly Serenade
07 My Hand Over My Heart (Andrei’s Radio Edit)*

*Special bonus track

INFO > Lush production, romantic lyrics, and an impassioned vocal performance combined to create one of Marc Almond’s most memorable singles, 1991’s “My Hand Over My Heart.” Almond co-wrote the song with former Soft Cell partner Dave Ball and Richard Norris (The Grid), who also remixed the tune. Trevor Horn spared no expense for a full orchestral accompaniment, arranged by Anne Dudley. And as if the main attraction weren’t enough, we’re also treated to several of Almond’s exceptional B-sides.

The one element lacking from this package is a proper edit—the five minute ‘Single Mix’ is only slightly shorter than the album version, and radio edits on UK and US promo releases are lazily faded around the 4:15 mark. Remedying this problem, our friend Andrei has created a custom edit, ending the track perfectly. However, does anyone have the 3:40 edit from this German promo CD?

Keeping The Faith Again


01 Love Corporation – Give Me Some Love (The Weatherall Remix)
02 Primal Scream – Don’t Fight It Feel It (Graham Massey Remix)
03 Bass Bumpers – Can’t Stop Dancing (Wicked Mix)
04 Hypnotone – Yu-Yu (FTD Mix)
05 Primal Scream – Higher Than The Sun (A Dub Symphony)
06 Hypnotone – Electraphonic (12″ Promo Only)
07 The Lilac Time – Dreaming
08 MK – Play The World
09 Sheer Taft – Atlantis

INFO > While less satisfying than the original “Keeping The Faith” compilation, this sequel still offers a decent selection of Balearic tunes.

All I Need Is You (US Promo)


01 All I Need Is You (7″ Mix)
02 All I Need Is You (Album Mix)
03 All I Need Is You (U.K. Alternative Mix)
04 All I Need Is You (Red’s Mix)
05 All I Need Is You (Midnite Cake Mix)
06 All I Need Is You (Hood Mix)
07 All I Need Is You (The “Other” Mix)
08 All I Need Is You (Castle Mix)
09 All I Need Is You (Sherwood Forest Dub)
10 All I Need Is You (12″ Alternative Remix)
11 All I Need Is You (U.K. Alternative Mix 2)

Tracks 4 – 9 > Remixed by Chris Cox
Track 10 > Remixed by Justin Strauss

INFO > In 1991, UK pop-rock quartet Blue Train flirted with fame via their debut single “All I Need Is You.” The catchy but forgettable ditty spent several weeks on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, and ultimately became a top 40 hit. Unfortunately, significant radio exposure didn’t translate to sales, and the band’s US-based label abandoned them.

The single’s curio value is upped by the participation of a young Chris Cox, who honed his production skills working for DJ services Hot Tracks, DiscoTech, and Razormaid before teaming up with Barry Harris to form Thunderpuss in 1997. “All I Need Is You” includes Cox’s first commercially available mixes, many of which are digitally exclusive to this promo (‘Hood’, ‘Castle’, and ‘Sherwood Forest’ reference the band’s city of origin: Nottingham, England).

NOTE > Tracks 10 and 11 are from a second promo CD, on which the ‘U.K. Alternative Mix’ instrumentation is pitched slightly down, resulting in a different sound and longer duration.

I Can’t Take The Power (US Promo)


01 I Can’t Take The Power (7″ Mix)
02 I Can’t Take The Power (The Justin Strauss Mix)
03 I Can’t Take The Power (Power Bass Mix)
04 I Can’t Take The Power (Riva Mix)

INFO > Jens Lissat and Peter Harder produced five singles as Off-Shore in the early-1990s. Their debut, “I Can’t Take The Power”, was a minor house hit; Justin Strauss’ US remixes were also issued down under by Epic’s Australian arm.

Good Thing Going


01 Good Thing Going
02 Abandon Me (Urban Shakedown Mix)
03 Abandon Me (Ramp Eviction Mix)

INFO > “Good Thing Going” was the lead single from Yazz’s album of covers, “The Natural Life”, which sadly received only a limited release in 1997. The song was originally recorded by Michael Jackson in 1971 as “We’ve Got A Good Thing Going”; however, Yazz’s reggae take on the tune is based on Sugar Minott’s version, which was a UK hit in 1981. To keep dance fans happy, Yazz’s recording of “Love Don’t Live Here Anymore” (a hit for Rose Royce in 1978) was remixed and re-titled “Abandon Me” for inclusion on the B-side (EastWest later issued a full remix package in 1998).

The Only Way Is Up (US CD)


01 The Only Way Is Up (Extended Club Mix)
02 The Only Way Is Up (The Up Up Up Mix)
03 The Only Way Is Up (Acid Dub)

INFO > Vocalist Yasmin ‘Yazz’ Evans guested on Coldcut’s 1988 UK Top 10 single, “Doctorin’ The House”; subsequently, Matt Black and Jonathan More produced Yazz’s debut single, “The Only Way Is Up.” Originally recorded by Otis Clay in 1980, “The Only Way Is Up” was a massive hit for Yazz during the summer of 1988. The US CD single features a unique tracklisting that includes the Extended Version, Bam Bam’s ‘Up Up Up Mix’, and Justin Strauss’ ‘Acid Dub.’

Pet Shop Boys “Vocal”

Today, Neil and Chris debuted a music video for their new single, “Vocal.” The film comprises vintage amateur footage from late-80s raves—images which will undoubtedly elicit a nostalgic euphoria for quite a few folks:

The new Pet Shop Boys album, “Electric”, is out on 15 July 2013.

House Of The Blue Danube


01 House Of The Blue Danube (Justin Strauss Mix)
02 House Of The Blue Danube (Dub Mix)
03 House Of The Blue Danube (Justin Strauss House Mix)

INFO > Malcolm McLaren’s genre-mashing Bootzilla Orchestra included Jeff Beck, Bootsy Collins, Lisa Marie, Lourdes, Pretty Fatt, and Willi Ninja. Between 1989 and 1990, the project spawned the LP “Waltz Darling” and five singles, but was most notable for introducing the vogue dance style to mainstream audiences. To rework Malcolm’s twisted take on Johann Strauss II’s waltz “The Blue Danube”, there was no more fitting a choice of producer than Justin Strauss.

Summer Rain


01 Summer Rain (Extended Version)
02 Summer Rain (Dub)

INFO > Justin Strauss gave a slightly sinister slant to “Summer Rain”, a 1990 solo single from Go-Gos lead singer Belinda Carlisle.

HELP > Anyone have this US promo CD?

Jive Presents In-House Volume 1


01 Samantha Fox – I Wanna Have Some Fun (Fun House Mix)
02 Culture Clash Dance Party – Love Fever (Fever Mix)
03 The She Rockers – Get Up On This (Adonis Mix)
04 Wee Papa Girl Rappers – We Know It (Phosphoric Mix)
05 Children Of The Night – It’s A Trip (Hacienda Mix)
06 Adonis And The Acid Slaves – House Will Never Die

INFO > Kevin Saunderson and Adonis Smith produced and/or remixed most of this 1988 house sampler EP.