Electronic – Disappointed

01 Disappointed (7″ Mix)
02 Disappointed (12″ Remix)
03 Idiot Country Two
04 Disappointed (Original Mix)
05 Gangster (FBI Mix)

FACT > Although “Disappointed” was assigned a Factory catalog number (FAC 348), and the label’s logo appears on the sleeve, the single was released via Parlophone. Neil Tennant handles lead vocal duties, and 808 State remixed the track; the single mix is also included on the soundtrack to the 1992 film, “Cool World.” Different B-sides feature on both sides of the Atlantic: the UK issue has the Stereo MC’s take on “Idiot Country”, while the US received a re-edit of “Gangster” produced by John Pillin and Steve Smith of the Art of Mix DJ promo service.

Posted on November 17, 2012, in 808 State, Bernard Sumner, Electronic, FACTORY, Pet Shop Boys, Stereo MC's. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Thank you thank you and p.s thank you (and an extra thanks for putting up with demanding bastards like me).

  2. Thanks, love this song. A+ The “cool world” soundtrack this came off of was excellent as well.

  3. My favourite Electronic single! Could’ve been a PSB single anyway.
    Neil was inspired by Mylene Farmer’s just-as-brilliant Desenchantee to write Disappointed. Check out that single if you haven’t, Chris.

    • I love a good backstory to a great piece of music. Even better – I love an excellent recommendation. I’ve seen Mylene Farmer’s name before but never knew anything about her until your comment. Just listened to “Desenchantee” online and I’m already searching for a copy – thank you, Ric!

What's On Your Mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: