Methods Of Dance is 1

Man, that year flew by pretty quick. And by happy coincidence, this is the 250th post (hardly prolific, but not too shabby).

Hopefully, this won’t come off as sappy, but I started this blog as self-prescribed therapy to help cope with depression and anxiety. So I sincerely appreciate the overwhelming support from followers and fellow bloggers—your suggestions, requests, comments, compliments, and the occasional jocularity all mean a lot.

Also, a big thank you to several generous folks who have shared some great, hard-to-find singles. Cheers.

Thanks again, everyone.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in SHELF. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I really appreciate what you do here. Thanks for the great posts and music. Please keep sharing your knowledge even if you feel you don’t need therapy any more :)

    • I do enjoy writing and sharing music for the benefit of fellow trainspotters. It certainly beats popping pills or going to a headshrinker! Thanks for your support :-)

  2. As Danny Tengalia (or Celeda if you want to be picky) has proclaimed, Music Is The Answer!!!
    (I’ll leave the Dancing and Prancing bit optional for you, Chris)

    Has it been a year ALREADY? well, it sure has been a musical one for me. Thanks for your treasures…many I know, and some I don’t.

    Here’s to 2012, and more method of dancing, prancing, grooving, keep moving….

    • Ahh, Ric – I know I can always count on you for kind words and several smiles :-) Besides alleviating the blues, the blog has really reinvigorated my interest in music. I love the challenge of finding rarities, and like yourself, I’m discovering plenty of new treasures, too. Keep groovin’ indeed!

  3. what an amazing first year, one down, several to go (hopefully). thanks for all the amazing music so far and heres looking forward to a lot more. i’ll be out tonight celebrating 2 of my best friends birthdays that both fall today and i’ll raise a glass to yours aswell. happy birthday m.o.d.

    • I’m hoping to maintain the blog for at least another year – I might run out of CDs! Thanks for your frequent comments, Kieran, and please give my regards to your mates!

  4. i was surfing, searching for musical something (i think it was Aloof’s early singles. yeah, i just discovered Aloof for myself :)))))) as i stumbled by your blog. i knew that “Methods of dance” is Japan’s song – cause i love Japan and Sylvian so so much – but i knew so little about music you posted. early 90s house was almost terra incognita for me. and the biggest (and most enjoyable) discovery was Guerilla. i’ve found the music from D.O.P, Spooky, Supereal, React to rhythm, etc – i love them all, this sound is such a pleasure.

    so, like i already said, thanks for your classes, sir :-)
    and i still keep hoping that you have and post Aloof’s “On a mission” single as it’s impossible to find nowadays)))

    • I too am a huge fan of Japan (hence the blog name) and the individual band members’ solo work and collaborations. Japan was the group that really widened my appreciation of music in all forms and styles.

      I’m very happy that you’ve been able to discover new music through the blog – I’m finding lots of new material as well. And I just ordered a copy of The Aloof’s “On A Mission” – I’ll post it for you ASAP upon receipt.

      Thanks Andrei!

  5. THX for the time you take to keep up this site and your contribution to all us music lovers around the globe. Happy New Year.

  6. Congrats on reaching this milestone. Here’s to many more posts.

  7. cathedralsofsound@hotmail.com

    happy 250th!

  8. ¡Feliz cumpleaños!

  9. Thanks again guys, and best wishes to all for a healthy and happy New Year!

  10. Happy Milestones MOD!

    My head, feet & media library thank you from the bottom of their neurones, metatarsal’s & silicon chips!

  11. Congrats on your blog and long may it continue too :)

What's On Your Mind?

