Various Artists – Africanize

Various Artists
2001 Gut Records (UK)

01. Thievery Corporation – The Lagos Communique
02. Femi Kuti – Blackman Know Yourself (The Roots Remix)
03. Baaba Maal – Souka Nayo (Thievery Corporation Mix)
04. Papa Wemba – Yolele
05. Up Bustle & Out – An African Friendship
06. Hamid Baroudi – Trance Dance (DJ Krush Remix)
07. DJ Food – Dub Lion (Remake)
08. Manu Dibango – New Bell
09. Salif Keita – Tekere
10. Madala Kunene – Ubombo (Smith & Mighty Remix)
11. Leftfield – Afro Left
12. Wasis Diop featuring Lena Fiagbe – No Sant
13. Afro Celt Sound System – Shadowman

INFO > This collection combines traditional African artists and rhythms with contemporary producers and sounds, creating a compilation best described as “music from and inspired by Africa.” A notable inclusion is Thievery Corporation’s “The Lagos Communique” (ESL 024), exclusive to CD on this release.


Posted on February 13, 2011, in VARIOUS ARTISTS. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Could you please re-up this album?

What's On Your Mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: