Various Artists – Vivatonal CD

Various Artists
“Vivatonal CD”
1994 Vivatonal (UK)

01. Musical Director – Admission
02. The Diceman – Supervisor Error
03. The Diceman – Quad (Spooky’s Magi Remix)
04. Emanon – Floating Point
05. LMNO – Silcock Express
06. LMNO – Silcock Express (Sabres Of Paradise Mix)
07. Bob And Ian – Purpuss (Kris Needs Mix)
08. LMNO – Y
09. LMNO – X (Rad Rice’s F**k You Up Mix)
10. The Diceman – Sonic System
11. The Diceman – Sonic System (Vinyl Blair’s Seltzer Una Mix)
12. Solace – Hold Me Now
13. Solace – Hold Me Now (Bedrock Mix)

INFO > Named after an old Columbia Records recording process, the Vivatonal label existed solely to distribute the output of Colin ‘Jolly’ James under multiple pseudonyms. This collection—the imprint’s only compact disc—gathers tracks from the label’s twelve vinyl singles released between 1992 and 1994. James’ original productions are decent progressive house; however, it’s the period mixes from some of the genre’s luminaries (Charlie May, Andrew Weatherall, Kris Needs, Billy Nasty, John Digweed) that make this album worth a listen.

NOTE > The cover is a glossy, white digipak with raised, white lettering so the scan didn’t capture details very well.


Posted on January 23, 2011, in VARIOUS ARTISTS. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What's On Your Mind?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: