21st Century

Courtesy of Andrei: a vintage summer anthem to warm up your weekend. Play on!


01 21st Century (Radio Edit)
02 21st Century (Original Full Length Mix)
03 21st Century (Transfer Club Mix)
04 21st Century (François K Remix)
05 21st Century (Different Gear Mix)

INFO > Never stuck in one groove, Andy Cato (Beat Foundation / Groove Armada) enlisted vocalist Rachel Foster in 2001 for a new project: Weekend Players. The duo delivered a desirable dose of deep house and downtempo tunes on their album, “Pursuit Of Happiness.” Their debut single “21st Century” includes remixes from Mark Jolley & Andy Wright, François Kevorkian, and Gino Scaletti & Quinn Whalley.

I Just Wanna Be Loved


01 I Just Wanna Be Loved
02 I Just Wanna Be Loved (Magic Man Remix)
03 Do You Really Want To Hurt Me (Quivver Mix)

INFO > After a 12-year hiatus, Culture Club reunited in 1998 for an appearance on “VH1 Storytellers”, followed by a successful tour, an updated retrospective collection, and a new album, “Don’t Mind If I Do.” The first fruit of the renewed band’s labor was “I Just Wanna Be Loved”, which reached 4 on the UK Singles Chart. The release includes John Graham’s spacey rework of “Do You Really Want To Hurt Me.”



01 Running (Vocal Remix)
02 Running (Percappella)
03 Running (‘The Nest’ Remix)
04 Running (Instrumental)

INFO > Kurt Larson and Paul Robb formed Information Society in 1982 while attending university in Minnesota; James Cassidy joined later, creating the group’s classic lineup. InSoc’s self-produced debut EP echoes key influences such as Devo and Gary Numan. The group’s next effort was electro-freestyle single “Running”, released in 1984 on indie Wide Angle, and featuring vocalist Murat Konar. In 1986, Tommy Boy reissued “Running” with remixes by Joey Gardner and Louie Vega that turned the tune into a club hit and broke the band on a national level in the U.S.



01 Extremis
02 Extremis (Qattara Remix Edit)
03 Extremis (Download Mix)
04 Extremis (Qattara Remix)

INFO > Electronic collective Hal produced the theme to 1996 BBC documentary series “Future Fantastic”, which was narrated by Gillian Anderson. Hal and Anderson collaborated on the single “Extremis”, which peaked at 23 on the UK Singles Chart in 1997.

Trivia > After I got married in 1998, Gillian Anderson topped my ‘exception list.’

The Age Of Love (1997 Remixes)


01 The Age Of Love (Jam & Spoon Radio Mix)
02 The Age Of Love (Paul van Dyk Radio Edit)
03 The Age Of Love (Jam & Spoon Watch Out For Stella Mix)
04 The Age Of Love (Paul van Dyk Love Of Ages Mix)
05 The Age Of Love (Baby Doc Remix)
06 The Age Of Love (Secret Knowledge Remix)
07 The Age Of Love (Emmanuel Top Remix)
08 The Age Of Love (Jam & Spoon Sign Of The Time Mix)
09 The Age Of Love (Boeing Mix)

INFO > In 1997, React reissued “The Age Of Love” with new remixes from Paul van Dyk, Quentin Franglen, Kris Needs, and Emmanuel Top, along with the Jam & Spoon mixes from 1992 (all tracks from the two UK CD singles are consolidated here). Flogging it further, React commissioned more mixes from Johnny Vicious and Brainbug the following year, and then another raft of reworks in 2004. Looking on Discogs, I see there were yet more mixes issued in 2010 and 2011. Let it rest, people—the age of love has passed…

No-One In The World (1998)


01 No-One In The World (DJB Radio Edit)
02 No-One In The World (Mack Mongoloid Mix)
03 No-One In The World (Frankenstein UV Remix)
04 No-One In The World (Mongoloidian Killer Bees Mix)
05 No-One In The World (LP Version)
06 No-One In The World (In Slacker’s Universe – Master Mix)
07 No-One In The World (Timecode Remix)
08 No-One In The World (Original W.F.O. Mix)

INFO > London born Mark Van Hoen has been experimenting with sound for over 30 years. He was a member of Seefeel in the early-1990s, as well as that band’s offshoot project, Scala. Van Hoen has recorded as Locust since 1993; however, his original mix of “No-One In The World” was initially credited to W.F.O. and appears on volume two of the “Excursions In Ambience” series. The track borrows vocals from the Carpenters’ 1972 single “Hurting Each Other”; this 1998 reissue includes remixes from Bernard Badie, Armand Van Helden & Junior Sanchez, Frank Fallico, Shem McCauley, and Rob Playford.


Please spare just three minutes to watch this:

Learn More About These Atrocities At: LastDaysOfIvory.com


Still Lost in the Clouds

I finally figured out what happened to my files hosted on ADrive. After the majority of uploads were mysteriously made private a couple of months ago, I shared them again, thinking that they would then be available. However, when files are unshared and then shared again on ADrive, new download links are created, rendering the prior ones inactive.

As I don’t have the time to replace all those old links, my advice is to grab whatever files that are still available while you can (currently posts from 8 May 2014 to present).



01 Kaleidoscope (Radio Edit)
02 Kaleidoscope (Lens Of Atlantic Remix)
03 Kaleidoscope (Original Mix)
04 Kaleidoscope (L.S.G. Remix)

INFO > Simon Berry founded Platipus Records in 1993; the trance label’s early releases were produced by Berry under various aliases: Art Of Trance, Poltergeist, and Union Jack (the latter with Claudio Giussani). Released in 1996, “Kaleidoscope” was Berry’s sixth single as Art Of Trance; the track was remixed by Sunday Club and Oliver Lieb.

Beyond The Javelin


Lee Softley and James Reid met in Huddersfield while both were attending an introductory sound recording course in the early-1990s. The pair began experimenting with sounds and merging their musical influences to create something new, and thus was born Blue Amazon. Their first single was “Hyper Sleep”, released on a small independent imprint in 1993. Searching for a proper label, the duo sent out demos that ultimately reached Seven Webster, whose 7PM management clients included Sasha, John Digweed, Brian Transeau, StoneBridge, and Shiva. Webster realized Blue Amazon’s potential and set up Jackpot Records as an outlet for BA’s burgeoning epic house sound. The label’s first release, “Four Seasons”, was promptly played by Sasha and Digweed—the connection between 7PM and Jackpot proved convenient and fruitful.

With rapidly building success from their own productions and remixes for other artists, Softley and Reid signed with Sony’s S3 label in 1997; however, the contract would be short lived. S3 issued BA’s sole album, “The Javelin”, along with new mixes of “And Then The Rain Falls” and “No Other Love.” BA then moved to the Subversive label and recorded a trio of singles with more of an indie band feel. Around that same time in the late-90s, Softley and Reid founded Convert Recordings to distribute music by artists they liked, along with the occasional new BA offering. James Reid parted ways with Lee Softley in 2001, leaving Softley to carry on Blue Amazon as a solo project.

“Beyond The Javelin” compiles Blue Amazon’s Jackpot singles, reworks of material from “The Javelin”, and BA’s DMC remixes for other artists. As he did for the blog’s other custom collections, graphic designer Harry3 conceived the elegant artwork, which reprises clever elements first featured on the Skinnymalinky compilation posted last month. Ya gotta love the guy’s style…


If you’re looking for more Blue Amazon, I recommend the very affordable digital release, “The Hybrid”, a best of collection that expands upon the concept of “Beyond The Javelin” (and with only a minimal number of redundant tracks). You’ll find the best deal for “The Hybrid” at 7Digital: $6.99 (US site) or £5.49 (UK site).

BLUE AMAZON on Facebook
BLUE AMAZON on SoundCloud